Food, Food, Food

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike

Food, Food, Food

Postby Beef_Pies » Sat Mar 15, 2008 1:57 pm

Hi. I'm new to the E-Playa. 2008 will be my virgin burn, and I'm awfully excited about it. I'm fortunate. I've been invited to travel out in a caravan with other Burners from Southwest Ohio, and be included in their camp, so that's one major hurdle out of the way. I think I'm going into this with my eyes open; I'm going to be as prepared as I can possibly be, I hope.

To that end, I'm finding that the biggest question that comes to my mind--continually--is "What are the best foods to bring with you to Black Rock City?" My thinking runs along these lines: There's so much to see and do, so many fascinating people to meet, so much to learn. While I understand that I'll have to have (at least) one good meal a day, the rest of the time I want to be able to eat quickly/on-the-go, so I can fit as much into the week as possible.

Any suggestions, or at least can someone point me in the direction of a web page that has that sort of list? I've been to a couple, and mostly what I've seen so far is people listing the clothes they wear, or the gear they bring.

And yes, I'm this verbose in 'real' life, too. If you meet me on the Playa this year, I may be one of the most boring people you've ever met. Or maybe kinda interesting. It's usually hard for me to tell.

Thanks in advance!
"Isn't it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are faeries at the bottom of it too?"
--Douglas Adams
Beef_Pies

Postby Dork » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:15 pm

viewtopic.php?t=17132
http://tribes.tribe.net/08bmvirgins/thr ... 6dd4906a19

I agree - the less time you spend preparing food, the more time you have to explore. That doesn't mean you have to eat junk, though. You can eat quite well with little effort if you spend a little time planning and preparing ahead of time.
Dork

Postby Beef_Pies » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:36 pm