CDJ's vs Playa Dust

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike

CDJ's vs Playa Dust

Postby Dewey » Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:36 pm

So I really really really wanna bring my CDJ's to burning man (this is my first time), but I can't think of any feasible method of keeping playa dust out. I've heard of a few contraptions explained verbally but haven't ever heard or seen anything else. I looked through 7 or 8 pages in this thread but couldn't find anything related. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
2k7 Booty Resin Space Camp (7 and J)
2k8 Emerald City Sound Camp (2 and D)
2k9 Camp John The Jew (8 and C)
2k12 ITS ON BABY!!!!
Dewey

Postby phil » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:19 pm

I suspect there is no way other than sealing them before you come to Burning Man and never opening them. Seriously.
phil

Postby Dewey » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:24 pm

lol I was affraid of that answer.
2k12 ITS ON BABY!!!!
Dewey

Postby Dork » Thu Mar 08, 2007 5:48 pm

Am I right in assuming you mean something along these lines?
http://www.geminidj.com/cdj02.html

Dust will enter it through any gaps, especially the slider and CD slot but also around the buttons. If you depend on the ones you have for your livelihood and/or the possibility of a couple hundred bucks plus time for repairs after you get back scare you, it's probably best to leave them at home. If you can stand a little risk, there are ways you can minimize how much dust gets in and hope you get lucky:

Have a completely sealed container you can easily put it in when not in use. Be diligent about using the container - if you aren't actively using the CDJ and standing near to it, put it in the box. If it's not in the box, the box itself should be sealed so it doesn't fill with dust.

Perform from a sheltered location - top and 3 sides around you. The back of a box truck is great for this. A carport, yurt, etc would also work. I know of one DJ who built a huge steel and plastic cage to play inside - overkill, but pretty cool.