Tech Advice for all, and for all subjects

All things outside of Burning Man.

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:05 pm

gyre wrote:Moatly I'm trying out new firefox add ons.

I've been using session manager and a tab storage program.
It seems they can't run at the same time, though they can work together by transferring info.
It's a case of 'cassa contra cassa'.

There are others I plan to try.


I guess you are right. Firefox I only go so far with, as with most browsers for that matter. And when it comes to add ons, I dont even bother. Why? There is no reason to bother with add ons if the browsers work right.
Lately I have been using firefox but also using Chrome and Safari due to the IPV6 factor. Firefox is not IPV6 ready yet.

Plus Safari, Chrome and Opera are looking to be more complete browsers on so many new levels these days.

So yes you are right. I cant help you with the addons.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:07 pm

YouTube Calls on IPv6

Friday, February 5, 2010

The first telephone numbers in the latter part of the 19th century were short and simple, made up of no more than a few digits. Calls would be routed through operators and these operators would then manually patch these calls into the lines of their intended recipients. As more and more people got telephones, the length of telephone numbers grew from three to four to seven and then eventually to 10 digits and beyond. Today, cities like Manhattan have been forced to have multiple area codes (917, 646, 212, 347, etc.) and if you want to dial outside of your country, add on a few more numbers.


Image


So what does this history lesson have to do with YouTube? IP (the Internet Protocol) is the protocol used to communicate data across the Internet in the same way telephones connected conversations over a century ago. Each connection has an IP address that works like a telephone number. Just like telephone numbers, these IP addresses need to grow to accommodate all the new people coming online. The problem is that IPv4, the current version of the Internet protocol, uses a 32-bit address and those addresses are running out of space -- fast. In 2000, Internet users had consumed 50% of IPv4 address space. Today, IPv4 has less than 10% of addresses available. When address space runs out, users will have to share addresses, because there won't be enough to go around.

But there is hope. IPv6 has a vastly larger address space (128-bit) and allows everyone to have an incredibly large number -- 264 or more -- of personalized IP addresses for all their devices (think of it as having a whole telephone exchange in your home). Not having to share IP addresses is good for users because it means better, more relevant information can be delivered to them whenever they want it. It's a win for openness and new applications because any device can connect directly to any other device on the Internet. It's even a win for security, because it's harder for hackers to find your computer and attack it. But up until now, IPv6 still hasn't gotten as much traction as IPv4. And content creators and users have yet to adopt it on a wide scale.

Since the very first announcement of ipv6.google.com (IPv6 connection required; if you don't have it, ask your ISP to deploy it), we have been committed to supporting IPv6 and have steadily added IPv6 support to more and more services. The service most requested to have IPv6 support has unquestionably been YouTube. Given all of this, we're proud to make YouTube available over IPv6 and to begin streaming videos from a select number of sites worldwide to our Google over IPv6 partners. With YouTube on board, we now have a significant amount of content delivered on IPv6 and a real audience/traffic for it. This is a good day for YouTube, our users and for an open and accessible Internet.

Lorenzo Colitti, network engineer and IPv6 samurai, recently watched "Sesame Street: Martians Telephone," and Steinar H. Gunderson, software engineer and IPv6 mercenary, recently watched "Student Brings Typewriter to Class."

_________________________________________________


Now there are many here that know I have been pushing IPV6 since I have been on eplaya for many years.

The main reason why is as I have always said here on eplaya; it's the most secure, it is efficient and expedient.
But dont take my word for it, take the word of the top leading engineers in the field of IPV6:


http://www.computerperformance.co.uk/Longhorn/ipv6.htm

"Security

Security - Built in to IPv6; whereas IPSec is an add-on to IPv4.


Speed of IPv6


IPv6 will be faster in several ways. Physically, because IPv6 does not fragment the packets as IPv4 does. Logically, because IPv6 will be hierarchical, thus internet routers won't need such large routing tables. In addition, IPv6 headers have been redesigned to speed their path through a router and to create true 'end to end' capability, the result is more efficient network traffic on the internet backbone

Another difference between IPv4 and IPv6 is in the smarter allocation of IPv6 addresses. Rather than first come first served basis as seen with IPv4, IPv6 addresses will be leased on geographic region. Take Europe for example, RIPE (Réseaux IP Européens) has allocated the UK-BT IPv6 addresses beginning with 2001:0618"
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:12 pm

AZII and Spec can argue all they like this time but the fact is IPV6 is just that way and always has been.

Oh and hey, I hope these two dont feel bad. I have been up against some of the best engineers that have argued the same as AZII and Spec......(well not really if you know what I mean) and they too see the light now.

I can take a beating it seems.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:32 pm

And there are tons of info now by the second coming out on Google of IPV6.

It's worth checking out today and all weekend.

Oh and before I forget, Android is IPV6 ready also. That's the most exciting part.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby oneeyeddick » Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:19 pm

OK, I don't get it.

I have my flatsceen hooked up to my computer with a DVI/cable out card with a HDMI conversion cable using NVIDIA.

This works fine, but when I switch it off from cloned back to single display, the aspect ratio on the regular dell 19inch monitor is somewhat skewed, and certain websites cause my shit to 'freeze" when I try to access them with it like this.

It ain't the browser, I can't reach these sites no matter which one I use.

One of these is REALLY important to my daily rituals(unlike Eplaya, haha).

It was fine for the last 2 months, but now it doesn't switch back to the original aspect, it stays slightly enlarged, which is what's causing the problem.

Anyone have any idea what the fuck happened ?

edit :

Oh , and BTW, by keeping it cloned, with the flatscreen TV as the main display, I am able to surf without a problem, but this leaves the 19inch Dell screen stretched vertically, and kinda hurts my one eye after a while.
We have an obligation to make space for everyone, we have no obligation to make that space pleasant.
User avatar
oneeyeddick
 
Posts: 5588
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Probably in your pants
Burning Since: 1996

Postby oneeyeddick » Sun Feb 14, 2010 8:45 pm

Nevermind, everythings back to normal now, I figured it out.
I still don't know why it happened, but at least I know what to do if it does it again.

*hears the echoes of Risky saying "Switch to Firefox" somewhere in the background*
We have an obligation to make space for everyone, we have no obligation to make that space pleasant.
User avatar
oneeyeddick
 
Posts: 5588
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Probably in your pants
Burning Since: 1996

Firefox, made for Yahoo

Postby gyre » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:11 pm

Can someone tell me how the fuck to remove firefox 3.6?
I'll gut all of it if I have to.
Once again, firefox isn't supporting yahoo, so I'm locked out of my account.
I've had non-stop issues with whatever the hell yahoo is doing on their own.
Yahoo just tells me to get IE.
There's a reason that isn't on my machine.

And I'm open to suggestions for a better service.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Re: Firefox, made for Yahoo

Postby ibdave » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:49 pm

gyre wrote:Can someone tell me how the fuck to remove firefox 3.6?
I'll gut all of it if I have to.
Once again, firefox isn't supporting yahoo, so I'm locked out of my account.
I've had non-stop issues with whatever the hell yahoo is doing on their own.
Yahoo just tells me to get IE.
There's a reason that isn't on my machine.

And I'm open to suggestions for a better service.



No clue gyre, been using firefox and yahoo for the last 4 years and no issues. I only have about 5 add ons. like firefox way more than IE.. 8) 8) 8)
I was Born OK the 1st Time....

Don't bring defaultia to Burning Man, take Burning Man to defaultia...... graidawg
User avatar
ibdave
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:09 pm
Burning Since: 1998

Re: Firefox, made for Yahoo

Postby ygmir » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:51 pm

ibdave wrote:
gyre wrote:Can someone tell me how the fuck to remove firefox 3.6?
I'll gut all of it if I have to.
Once again, firefox isn't supporting yahoo, so I'm locked out of my account.
I've had non-stop issues with whatever the hell yahoo is doing on their own.
Yahoo just tells me to get IE.
There's a reason that isn't on my machine.

And I'm open to suggestions for a better service.



No clue gyre, been using firefox and yahoo for the last 4 years and no issues. I only have about 5 add ons. like firefox way more than IE.. 8) 8) 8)


yup, me too.......I can access all Yahoo stuff I try.
have you updated Firefox? I'm on 3.5.8 version.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25992
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Re: Firefox, made for Yahoo

Postby DVD Burner » Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:36 am

ygmir wrote:
ibdave wrote:
gyre wrote:Can someone tell me how the fuck to remove firefox 3.6?
I'll gut all of it if I have to.
Once again, firefox isn't supporting yahoo, so I'm locked out of my account.
I've had non-stop issues with whatever the hell yahoo is doing on their own.
Yahoo just tells me to get IE.
There's a reason that isn't on my machine.

And I'm open to suggestions for a better service.



No clue gyre, been using firefox and yahoo for the last 4 years and no issues. I only have about 5 add ons. like firefox way more than IE.. 8) 8) 8)


yup, me too.......I can access all Yahoo stuff I try.
have you updated Firefox? I'm on 3.5.8 version.



OH OH! You are dealing with Firefox 3.6 Beta?

If so, be careful and back up all of your bookmarks. I learned the hard way.

That 3.6 is a bitch to update. You need to back up or find everything you want or like about the add ons and such, then remove it by using add and remove if you are using windows.

3.6 is the only one that had any kind of problems. I can get into more detail if you need but I need to know what platform you are working with.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:16 am

Went to 3.6 and mail access froze on mail classic.
Works on new yahoo, but I don't like the navigation.

I'm using XP pro on this machine.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby DVD Burner » Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:02 am

gyre wrote:Went to 3.6 and mail access froze on mail classic.
Works on new yahoo, but I don't like the navigation.

I'm using XP pro on this machine.


Ok so yea, go to control panel and choose add and remove, BUT MAKE SURE YOU BACK UP YOUR BOOKMARKS. any add ons that you have for 3.6, you are going to need to reinstall them again. as far as email client goes, use Thunderbird email client.

Also make sure you know/remember all of your passwords you normally have firefox remember.
You can backup your cookies but that's not the best idea and you should already have all of your passwords memorized already anyway.

Install Thunderbird first before removing firefox so at least you can backup your email. I also would double back up your email with outlook express. Comes with XP.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:33 pm

OK, need help from all of you firefox experts.

What is a good popup blocker for firefox?


See, I am not all the expert yall think I am in a few areas.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:40 pm

Adblock plus.
It can even filter out the flash films in signatures.

Discovered avast isn't loading now also.
I have a lot of work to do on this, but busy now with pneumonia.
Miserable.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby ygmir » Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:26 am

so, I got the offer for the firefox3.6 update.
Gyre: did you get your issues resolved?

Anyone:
should I upgrade, or, does this version have "issues"?

thanks
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25992
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby gyre » Fri Mar 12, 2010 12:27 pm

Too much involved.
It will have to wit until I have more energy.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:09 pm

ygmir wrote:so, I got the offer for the firefox3.6 update.
Gyre: did you get your issues resolved?

Anyone:
should I upgrade, or, does this version have "issues"?

thanks


I haven't updated yet. I got the invite to upgrade yesterday. When it comes up again I'll do it and let yall know.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby ygmir » Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:15 pm

DVD Burner wrote:
ygmir wrote:so, I got the offer for the firefox3.6 update.
Gyre: did you get your issues resolved?

Anyone:
should I upgrade, or, does this version have "issues"?

thanks


I haven't updated yet. I got the invite to upgrade yesterday. When it comes up again I'll do it and let yall know.


thanks.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25992
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby DVD Burner » Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:58 pm

I updated my firefox.

All is still well.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby ygmir » Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:02 pm

thanks. so, no troubles, as described before?
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25992
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby DVD Burner » Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:11 pm

Nope, works pretty good. Tho I dont care for how they changed the functions of how the tabs come up, it's fine.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby ygmir » Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:41 pm

ok, thanks.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25992
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby gyre » Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:51 am

Another consistent issue I have is trying to go back to a letter after it is sent, or I accidentally moved forward or back.
I used to be able to do this.
Now I've lost the letter.
Gone.

Also when I try to paste on a letter that has text, I get highlighted text against my will.
Every letter I spend five minutes going back and forth until I can paste without the highlight erasing the text.
I don't know who designs this shit.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby jkisha » Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:54 am

Personally, I upgrade all software as soon as it is released and all hardware every there years. I think, in the long run, that prevents more problems than it creates or causes.

JK
JK
Image
http://www.mudskippercafe.com
When I was a kid I used to pray every night for a new bicycle.
Then I realised that the Lord doesn't work that way so I stole one and asked Him to forgive me.
User avatar
jkisha
 
Posts: 11403
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Burning Since: 2007
Camp Name: Mudskipper Cafe

Postby DVD Burner » Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:17 pm

Image

Amazing! I talk about this for almost a decade, have tons of people that argue me, that think or say they are experts and now this:


From


Fix6 – IPv6 News and info

There's no place like ::1


Netflix streaming over IPv6

June 15th 2009 by External

Two weeks ago, I noted that Netflix was accessible over IPv6. At the time, it was only their website, not their streaming service. Today, at NANOG 46, Netflix announced that their streaming service now supports IPv6.

Here's a screenshot of my Vista box running IPv6-only and streaming Serenity. Notice that there's no IPv4 address on the box.

There were several interesting bits in Netflix's slidedeck. Their Content Delivery Network, Limelight, announced IPv6 support today. This is huge, as they're the first CDN to announce production IPv6 support. Lack of IPv6 support in CDNs has been cited again and again as a primary factor in not deploying IPv6 on large content sites.

To my mind, there were two big points in Netflix's presentation:

1. IPv6 is easy. On Netflix's end, the entire deployment, from idea to production service, took two months. Limelight only tasked two engineers to work on IPv6 support.
2. "Load Balancers are easy." Alleged lack of IPv6 support in loadbalancers is a common canard that's totted out again and again when folks talk about production IPv6 deployments. I was so glad to see a large Internet content provider dispel this myth. Netflix even posted sample config for IPv6 on a Citrix Netscalar in their slidedeck.

Hats off to Netflix and Limelight for this.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:58 pm

I need to get into safe mode on an xp machine.
Only info I can find says go to advanced options.
Doesn't give me a fucking clue where that is.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:31 pm

gyre wrote:I need to get into safe mode on an xp machine.
Only info I can find says go to advanced options.
Doesn't give me a fucking clue where that is.


You mean after you hit F8?
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:41 pm

Is that it?

Another menu told me to hit F12, but it brought up a different menu, I think.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby unjonharley » Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:59 pm

Alright,

One of you brains tell this old man what a Magic Jack is????

Why would I be offered one for free?
User avatar
unjonharley
 
Posts: 8808
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:05 am
Location: Salem Or.

Postby gyre » Thu Jun 17, 2010 1:24 pm

It's a usb adapter for an internet phone service, also called voip.

I got a skype phone from someone who went to it.
When I picked it up, they had already quit using it and were going back to skype.
Trouble with receiving calls.
Their advice was to stick with skype, but there are other options too.
In certain situations, skype really saves money, like international travel in some places.

I haven't used skype yet, because I find their webhouse incomprehensible, and there is no support to ask.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

PreviousNext

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests