Tech Advice for all, and for all subjects

All things outside of Burning Man.

Postby skibear » Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:04 am

Almost bought such upgradable HP laptop last week at St**les.
None in stock. Everyone I know thinks Vista sucks.

Today I'm buying the exact same HP laptop at Office Despot.
Same $449 price but with Windows 7. 3GB with 320GB HD
16' rect screen , DVD+-RW burner, wireless N etc etc.

Don't know anything about 7 either except some say it's almost the same
as Vista. Guess we're stuck with whatever Gates jams down our throat
(or is it up our ass) Of course there's Mac's or Unix.
crash & burn ski lessons given
skibear
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:21 am
Location: Silver spring Md

Postby gyre » Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:18 pm

I don't understand the terminology for any of this, but when I upgraded to the latest firefox, I lost the tab feature that allows you to use the arrow to change tabs.
Very useful when you might have hundreds of tabs open doing a search.
And with session manager, I keep thousands of tabs in memory.

You can still get this behavior, you just need to focus it using the keyboard
(e.g. using Cmd/Ctrl+K then Tab).


I can confirm that this works.

Are some of the software patches a better option?

Maybe someone else can translate the terminology into english for me?

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=462289

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... &t=1304895

http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/forum/ ... 20function.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

How to speed up your eplaya viewing by blocking animations

Postby rodiponer » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:58 am

Large animated video clip GIFs slow down my browser. The effect is cumulative, so, for example, if there are several posts from someone who uses a video clip of a goat stomping on a man as a signature, my browser will freeze up for as much as a minute when the page first loads.

Less nerdy visitors here may not realize that the animated GIFs are causing their browser to slow down or freeze up. They may think that the forum itself is very very slow. They may find it helpful to know that:

On Firefox and Internet Explorer, you can press the Escape key to stop animated images from playing. Or, if AdBlock is installed in Firefox, right click on the image to block it permanently.

Chrome and Safari do not have a built in way to block images. On a Mac, I think the easiest way is to just block the website that the offending signature loads from, by editing the /etc/hosts file and adding the line:
127.0.0.1 4gifs.com
User avatar
rodiponer
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:59 pm
Location: California

Postby gyre » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:18 pm

I still can't get my router to recognize my computer.
If you have any ideas, let me know.
Maybe by phone?
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby dr.placebo » Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:28 am

Just sayin':

Image
User avatar
dr.placebo
 
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:03 pm
Location: Santa Cruz CA

Postby gyre » Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:25 am

Goddamn modern everything!
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Re: How to speed up your eplaya viewing by blocking animatio

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:00 am

rodiponer wrote:Large animated video clip GIFs slow down my browser. The effect is cumulative, so, for example, if there are several posts from someone who uses a video clip of a goat stomping on a man as a signature, my browser will freeze up for as much as a minute when the page first loads.

Less nerdy visitors here may not realize that the animated GIFs are causing their browser to slow down or freeze up. They may think that the forum itself is very very slow. They may find it helpful to know that:

On Firefox and Internet Explorer, you can press the Escape key to stop animated images from playing. Or, if AdBlock is installed in Firefox, right click on the image to block it permanently.

Chrome and Safari do not have a built in way to block images. On a Mac, I think the easiest way is to just block the website that the offending signature loads from, by editing the /etc/hosts file and adding the line:
127.0.0.1 4gifs.com



You know something, if animated gifs slow down your internet experience, IT REALLY IS YOUR COMPUTER.

Geeezz! What are yall running, 486's?

If you have at least a pentium 4 with 512 ram, animated gifs should not have any affect on your browser. PERIOD!

This is a fact. If you do have at minimum these specs and you are experiencing slow responses, then there is definitely something wrong with your computer.

On the mac side, you would have to be running a Mac classic to have any problems.

Sorry, it just kills me a topic like this.

Time to come out of the stone ages and get with the technology folks.
You have enough money to go to the playa but not enough to invest on your computer? :x


The only thread on this entire board that should affect anyone's browser is the " MY FAVORITE MOVIE ON YOUTUBE (TODAY) IS..." Thread.

Oh and hey, maybe you should try installing an anti virus program! :roll:
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 am

Hmmmm, I haven't been in this thread in awhile.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby rodiponer » Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:23 pm

DVD Burner, what browser and operating system are you using that is immune to several large animated GIFs?

In Macland, at least, this seems to be a common problem.
User avatar
rodiponer
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:59 pm
Location: California

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:57 pm

I am on both Dell XPS series and Imac 27" most of the time.

I'm always on the latest stuff. I use all browsers, safari, firefox. (I hate and never use IE)

I just have never ever had these problems on eplaya that other people seem to have had.

In fact eplaya runs the best out of all the sites I've been on including facebook.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:23 pm

Does anyone have a pdf in cyrillic or mandarin that isn't formatted as an image?
I'm trying to get my fonts to work as I'm doing more searches in other languages.,

Any suggestions as the best way to add them to my machine?
There may be an addon to adobe and firefox, or is it best to add to the desktop so they work on everything?
Any suggestions on source?
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby rodiponer » Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:31 pm

I haven't done this since Windows 2000, but back then, the best way was to download the language pack from Microsoft.
User avatar
rodiponer
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:59 pm
Location: California

Postby gyre » Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:36 pm

Thanks.
Any idea if it will work with firefox?
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby rodiponer » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:02 pm

Yes, it should work with nearly all of your software. Only older programs made before unicode, or more modern ones where the programmer just didn't care about internationalization, will not recognize the new language pack.
User avatar
rodiponer
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:59 pm
Location: California

Postby gyre » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:03 pm

I found some possibly useful firefox add-ons and many indian programs.

You can find many more by changing the language setting, but without fonts, I can't translate!!!


As I suspected, there is far more than the english search engines pull up.
You can search in other databases if you can get a link started by even a crude translation.
I have multi-linked through chains I can't read and often find wonderful things.
Knowing country net addresses helps too.
The Complete Internet book I found sounds like a joke, but it contains much of this sort of background info.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... sort=&lup=

https://addons.mozilla.org/ja/firefox/s ... D%26lup%3D
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby gyre » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:04 pm

rodiponer wrote:Yes, it should work with nearly all of your software. Only older programs made before unicode, or more modern ones where the programmer just didn't care about internationalization, will not recognize the new language pack.

I found some software that translates stuff to unicode.
I have never heard of it before.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby gyre » Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:15 pm

rodiponer wrote:I haven't done this since Windows 2000, but back then, the best way was to download the language pack from Microsoft.
I think I found the same one.
Most seem to only operate the system in other languages, but I found some that will do japanese, chinese and korean.
It seems the pdf software is more powerful so far though.

Some of the microsoft downloads appear to do simple translation for some phrases.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/r ... layLang=en
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby DVD Burner » Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:04 pm

Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Ugly Dougly » Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:20 pm

Image
I liked Magic Cap on Motorola Envoy. In 1994 it was ahead/egghead of its time.
Please to visit PAGE TWO.
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16308
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby EspressoDude » Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:27 pm

skibear wrote:Almost bought such upgradable HP laptop last week at St**les.
None in stock. Everyone I know thinks Vista sucks.

Today I'm buying the exact same HP laptop at Office Despot.
Same $449 price but with Windows 7. 3GB with 320GB HD
16' rect screen , DVD+-RW burner, wireless N etc etc.

Don't know anything about 7 either except some say it's almost the same
as Vista. Guess we're stuck with whatever Gates jams down our throat
(or is it up our ass) Of course there's Mac's or Unix.


Talked with my previous boss the other day, they are running W7 on two machines. both users are tech software writers, engineers, IT dudes. they both like W7, say it feels kinda like XP, but more intuitive. Comment about Vista was..yeah it's just over the horizon, it'll be right someday....not
Is 4 shots enuff? no foo-foo drinks; just naked Espresso
Tactical Espresso Service http://home.comcast.net/~espressocamp/
Field Artillery Tractor
FOGBANK, GOD OF HELLFIRE
BLACK ROCK f/x Trojan Horse,Anubis,2014Temple
burn shit and blow shit up
User avatar
EspressoDude
 
Posts: 4713
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: the first Vancouver

Postby Oldguy » Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:46 pm

My Windows XP is stuck in a start-up to restart loop. It won't start Windows. I've tried safe mode and last working configuration, but it just starts to load Xp and then goes into restart over and over. I figure I've picked up a trogan or worm virus. Any Help?
User avatar
Oldguy
 
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 12:22 am
Location: Sutter Buttes
Burning Since: 2005
Camp Name: Dogpatch

Postby Ranger Genius » Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:11 pm

Oldguy: It won't start in safe mode either?

Re: iPad: What imbecile decided that it didn't need USB? Is this just a plan to rob their (already accustomed to being fleeced) consumers on proprietary peripherals? Yet another "revolutionary" apple product that does something not-as-well as an existing and less expensive product, while at the same time locking its users into a unilaterally-controlled media outlet.

Archos9 FTW!
“We cross our bridges when we come to them and burn them behind us, with nothing to show for our progress except a memory of the smell of smoke, and a presumption that once our eyes watered.”
User avatar
Ranger Genius
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:07 am
Location: Behind the Zion Curtain

Postby EspressoDude » Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:44 pm

Ranger Genius wrote:Re: iPad: What imbecile decided that it didn't need USB? Is this just a plan to rob their (already accustomed to being fleeced) consumers on proprietary peripherals? Yet another "revolutionary" apple product that does something not-as-well as an existing and less expensive product, while at the same time locking its users into a unilaterally-controlled media outlet.



bet it doesn't have any 8", 5.25" or 3.5" floppy disk drives either...
Is 4 shots enuff? no foo-foo drinks; just naked Espresso
Tactical Espresso Service http://home.comcast.net/~espressocamp/
Field Artillery Tractor
FOGBANK, GOD OF HELLFIRE
BLACK ROCK f/x Trojan Horse,Anubis,2014Temple
burn shit and blow shit up
User avatar
EspressoDude
 
Posts: 4713
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: the first Vancouver

Postby mdmf007 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:43 am

"CAPS" lock is stuck on? must be a setting, because the numbers are gone and I get the symbols above as the default.

I have to press CAPS to get the numbers now -

any clues where this setting is. The 11 month old is the one that reset it with the random beating of the keyboard.

thanks
User avatar
mdmf007
Moderator
 
Posts: 4771
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: my computer
Burning Since: 1999
Camp Name: ESD

Postby Ugly Dougly » Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:45 am

Find the Numlock key and play with it.
Please to visit PAGE TWO.
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16308
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby Ugly Dougly » Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:53 am

Where's a good place online to sell an old BMW? My friend has one and she tried Craigslist to no avail. I think that a BMW-specialized website would attract the best buyers. Any ideas?
Please to visit PAGE TWO.
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16308
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby ygmir » Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:18 pm

Ugly Dougly wrote:Where's a good place online to sell an old BMW? My friend has one and she tried Craigslist to no avail. I think that a BMW-specialized website would attract the best buyers. Any ideas?


car or motorcycle?
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25978
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby Ugly Dougly » Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:28 pm

Oops. Car: 325i. :)
Note: I am NOT selling it here. :)
Please to visit PAGE TWO.
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16308
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby ygmir » Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:49 pm

yuh huh.......and, now, you will be reported to the proper authorities, for spamming.......and commercialism......
and,
henceforth,
known, as:

Spamaliscious..........
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 25978
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby gyre » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:01 pm

Stock?

Ebay?
Others for special cars.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15346
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

PreviousNext

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests