Force Word Wrap Feedback

Use this space for bug reports or to discuss site functionality and statistics.

Force Word Wrap Feedback

Postby spanky » Tue Mar 22, 2005 2:29 pm

OK, I installed the Force Word Wrap MOD just now and would appreciate any feedback. Anything borken? It should wrap long words and long URLs.

I also played with the header a bit to make it take up less vertical room, and slide horizontally better. Let me know if it looks ok to everyone. :)

~Spanky
User avatar
spanky
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:12 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby MissNev » Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:37 pm

That fits much better.
MissNev
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:58 am
Location: Sparks, NV

Postby tisha2 » Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:53 pm

perfect.
ERP ~ Emergency Resource Procurement
"if i can't find it, yer f***ed"
https://www.facebook.com/pages/ERP-Emergency-Resource-Procurement/257100377734118

how we roll:
https://www.facebook.com/TheThugboat
User avatar
tisha2
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:44 pm
Location: Blue Lake, CA

Postby blueniteowl » Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:59 pm

Woo Hoo! That's much better! Spanky you rule!
User avatar
blueniteowl
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:45 am
Location: found in dust

Postby bullD » Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:57 pm

so is this supposed to fix the width problem? I'm confused...
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby spanky » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:26 am

bullD wrote:so is this supposed to fix the width problem? I'm confused...


Two things happened:

1. The header layout was restricting the width of the board. You could only resize the window (horizontally) so far, before it stopped sliding and you got horizontal scroll bars. Now it should get pretty narrow and accomodate folks with smaller monitors and expand properly for those with larger monitors. I think it stops sliding when the Forum Jumplist at the bottom hits the right edge of the left column there. (FYI, that forum jumplist will get smaller when we re-structure; it's so long b/c of the insanely long forum title: "Psyche: the Conscious, the Subconscious and the Unconscious") Also, while I was in there, I made it take up less vertical space and removed some extraneous white space around the entire page (BODY margins). I didn't like the eplaya "logo" being over the flames, but pushing it down into the "clear" was 1/2 of the space right there.

2. There's a new MOD installed that will break a really long word, like a URL, at a certain character count, which can be set by the Admin Control Panel. If the long word is a URL, the link should still work (I tried it and it seemed fine). This should work for bare URLs and BBCode URLs too.

Really wide images is a different matter (and MOD) altogether and I hesitate to install it b/c some server load issues were reported by people using it. I think it would just add a Width attribute to any IMG tag. I don't think it actually resized the image.

Hope this helps. FYI, the character count is set as follows:

Minimum Screen Width 50 characters
Default Screen Width 70 characters
Maximum Screen Width 99 characters

Maybe these values are too big. I think it also does it on the fly, so changing the setting should work just fine. We can get feedback or maybe you could run some tests in this thread to see what works best. I know that it won't look the same for everyone b/c of variable width fonts and browser rendering differences. Let's try to find a happy medium.

~Spanky
User avatar
spanky
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:12 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:43 am

50

dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:44 am

70

dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:45 am

99

ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:48 am

200

dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:55 am

ehh, funny, your post explaining to me what's up IS longer than 70 characters in many spots, whats up with that? It makes horizontal scrolling necessary...

Whoa whoa whoa,

this line of yours is 70 characters but is 86 with spaces:

would just add a Width attribute to any IMG tag. I don't think it actually resized the


need to consider spacing in this...
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:57 am

in other words the default width of 70 needs to add the spacing as characters... at least from my seat it does.
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby spanky » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:08 am

bullD wrote:in other words the default width of 70 needs to add the spacing as characters... at least from my seat it does.


If a word has more than 70 characters with no spaces in it, it is wrapped (I think).

So my line has more than 70 characters, but there are plenty of spaces for it to wrap by itself. The problem is when there are no spaces to wrap on. This used to push the forum wider and wider (especially if quoted) making you have to scroll back and forth.

Is that clearer?

~Spanky
User avatar
spanky
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:12 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby spanky » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:09 am

75

ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
User avatar
spanky
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:12 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby spanky » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:12 am

OK, so it adds a space to anything over 70, if your window is wide enough, there's just a space in the word, but if you resize horizontally, when you reach that space, it will break on the space and wrap nicely.

70 may be too much for some users. Let's wait-n-see if anyone asks for it to be lowered. Maybe Mr. 13" monitor ;)

~Spanky
User avatar
spanky
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:12 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:12 am

yes, that is clearer but, I am having to scroll back and forth due to your initial explaining post.
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:14 am

he he he, and I'm not a thirteen incher, thank god. no, I'm much bigger than that.
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:33 am

ummm, so your line, 70 characters but 86 total with spaces:

would just add a Width attribute to any IMG tag. I don't think it actually resized the


that has plenty of space to wrap by itself is not wrapping itself and thus I still have to scroll back and forth, and my monitor is 20".

Am I totally confused, or does this thing still need some adjustment?
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby spanky » Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:05 am

Well, on my monitor, your example text just happens to be the same length as 70 d's which are not wrapped in the previous posts. Therefore the sliding stops at, coincidentally, the same place.

Add more words to the sentence and it should wrap. And if it could wrap, it would (scroll up the thread).

~Spanky
User avatar
spanky
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:12 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:28 am

I am going to write some words. hopefully these words, which should be more than seventy characters, will wrap properly and we will all be happy happy... here goes.
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:31 am

um, still have to scroll horizontally. anybody else still have to scroll horizontally here?
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby Tiara » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:43 pm

has anyone tested to see what a big wide photo does to the page width with this Mod installed?
User avatar
Tiara
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 2:07 pm
Location: Richmond CA

Postby bullD » Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:47 pm

yes, by III. And, spanky has a solution but still has to take into consideration what it might do to the servers so I think that is on the backburner (pun intended) for now.

Tiara, do you have to scroll horizontally when reading THIS thread?
User avatar
bullD
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:32 am
Location: sf

Postby blueniteowl » Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:12 pm

I do not have to scroll horizontally anymore. I think it's just you Bull.
User avatar
blueniteowl
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:45 am
Location: found in dust

Postby tisha2 » Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:08 pm

i am scrolling horiz again, too, whereas i wasn't yesterday.
:(
ERP ~ Emergency Resource Procurement
"if i can't find it, yer f***ed"
https://www.facebook.com/pages/ERP-Emergency-Resource-Procurement/257100377734118

how we roll:
https://www.facebook.com/TheThugboat
User avatar
tisha2
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 4:44 pm
Location: Blue Lake, CA


Return to Site Function

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests