Intro + questions! :)

Intro + questions! :)

Postby andimok » Sat Apr 05, 2014 10:32 am

Hello, everybody.

My mom and I are planning on going to Burning Man for the first time in 2015 all the way from Brazil! :D I've been reading all the info on the website, but I still have oh, so many questions (I'm sorry if I'm not supposed to ask questions here).
First things first, NICE TO MEET YOU. I'm Carol, an 18-year old from Brazil who's going to film school in L.A in a couple of months. I've known about Burning Man for a couple of years now, and I'm finally making plans to go and have the time of my life - with my best friend slash mom.
Now, I do have some questions. Some of which may sound silly, but keep in mind I'm totally new to the practical side of Burning Man.
Here we go.

. I plan on renting a car and driving to Burning Man from L.A - how long would that take? Is that the best option? I need to get a vehicle pass if I go by car - but what other way would I get there? Black Rock City is in the middle of nowhere, isn't it?
. Theme Camps. I don't get what those are. I know I don't HAVE to stay in one, but I hear it's the best option - especially for first-timers. Now, how do I register to get into one? Do I have to pay more? How do I choose the one I like the most? Ahhh, help.
. Shower, restrooms… uh, yeah. How?
. Why is Black Rock City shaped like a "C" and divided that way? Any specific reason? Can I just camp anywhere, or?

I think that's it. That's all I can remember right now, at least. If you want to give me any more tips, please do that!
So exciting! :shock:
andimok

Burning Since: 2015

Re: Intro + questions! :)

Postby Monkeystyle » Sat Apr 05, 2014 10:49 am