Me

Me

Postby Eldon McMullen » Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:59 pm

I'm a many times Grandfather. I was a hippy in the 60s. Ive always wanted to go to Burning Man. This year my oldest son and his wife bought me a ticket. I would like to come early and help. I'm a jack of all trades and very skilled in some. I'm a welder machinest and have my own shop. Its small but well equiped. I can fix almost anything and will be prepaired to do that. I go by Mac
Eldon McMullen

Re: Me

Postby jkisha » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:00 pm

Hey there, welcome to eplaya!
JK
http://www.mudskippercafe.com
When I was a kid I used to pray every night for a new bicycle.
Then I realised that the Lord doesn't work that way so I stole one and asked Him to forgive me.
jkisha

Burning Since: 2007
Camp Name: Mudskipper Cafe

Postby theCryptofishist » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:04 pm

You're almost certainly not going to get early entry. Unless you make yourself indispensable to an art project or theme camp. But early entry passes are rare, and given to known hard workers. First year out, you're not going to have the kind of track record that gets you a pass.
Simon's real sig line?

Embrace the Sock

Winners never quilt, quilters never win...
theCryptofishist

Burning Since: 2017

Postby Savannah » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:37 pm

Hi Mac! :D

Welcome. What Fishy said about it being difficult to enter early is true. Experienced volunteers sometimes have early entry (but usually not first-timers) or hardworking types who work on a theme camp Build prior to the playa, and are given early entry by a camp leader.

You can sign up for local mailing lists here, maybe meet some local camps near you whose build you can work on:
http://regionals.burningman.com/na_index.html

You can sign up to volunteer via this link, but it can be overwhelming the first year; best to pick something you would like even if there is no advantage beyond satisfaction, and start with just 1 or 2 shifts and maybe add another at the event if you're happy.