Help in honor of a friend who passed away

No matter your skills or interests, there's a way for you to participate in the creation and manifestation of Black Rock City, both at the event and year-round.

Help in honor of a friend who passed away

Postby JoshMega » Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:32 am

Hello fellow Burners. My name is Josh and I'm excited to be Welcomed Home soon for yet another year. I must admit, this is my first time posting on the forums. I usually just read them, but I'm posting for a special reason.

One of my two best friends died in a car accident a month from yesterday. His name was Jeff, we called him Babo (pronounced Bob-O), and he was 26. He had never been to Burning Man, but had wanted to go to Burning Man since I first told him about it. This year, though I don't have much for money, but I'm taking him with me. A fellow Burner and I are building a memorial art project for him called Babo's Bar out on the playa. It's the perfect tribute. I'm fundraising my friends and the rest of our small home town for the materials to build his tribute monument.

On the other side of things is my other best friend Donnie. The three of us were like brothers. He like myself and the rest of my friends back home (I live in San Francisco now , while they all still live in 29 Palms and Joshua Tree in SoCal) doesn't have much money. But I want him to be at Burning Man this year for the tribute to Babo that we are building.