balloons

Exchange camp ideas, find places to perform, announce your events, etc.

balloons

Postby Alex_uk » Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:09 am

just some brief advice if any could help.......working on a project that would involve the lifting of object into the air with balloons, these would be to quite a height 50-100 or so feet. any ideas on what bm may say to this, would it break any rules safety wise or anything like that.

bassically can i lift "ART" with balloons?

if i can, then i intend to create lsomething abit diff for the sky of burning man 2005.

also has anyone seen anything like this, this is my first year and it doesnt seem to me that anything siomialr has been doen (at least noty in any photos i have seen)

thanks a bunch....alex
Alex_uk

Postby Dork » Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:47 am

Yes, people have done it before. There was a really cool "eyes of god" piece last year. They suspended these lights that looked like a pair of blinking eyes from balloons at night and pulled the thing around with ropes. All you could see was the lights suspended in the air.

Something to keep in mind - the wind can be strong and gusty, so you need tough balloons with enough lift to overcome the weight of the art AND the force of the wind trying to get them to crash down to the ground.
Dork

Postby Alex_uk » Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:13 pm

thanks i hadnt thought babout wind force...will be sure to look up thaty factor
Alex_uk

Postby Alex_uk » Thu Jan 13, 2005 1:24 pm

ok i like to plan early and need some help. does anyone know where i can get hold of helium gas in or around reno or just in general?
Alex_uk

Postby Sandwichman » Thu Jan 13, 2005 1:43 pm

Alex_uk wrote:ok i like to plan early and need some help. does anyone know where i can get hold of helium gas in or around reno or just in general?