LARP or other Role Playing Geekery...?

Exchange camp ideas, find places to perform, announce your events, etc.

LARP or other Role Playing Geekery...?

Postby quasilaur » Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:29 am

Some geeks I know are going to things like DragonCon... I'm coming to BurningMan (community building is so much more my scthick). I was wondering if any other Burners were LARP (Live Action Role Play) friendly (this is wrt World of Darkness) and if there would be any camps or individuals planning a LARP of any sort. Would be nifty if there was a One World By Night game planned (I'm new to OWbN, so I don't know how that official schtick works.)

If you don't have anything planned but would like to see about getting something together, get in touch w/ me... maybe we can figure something out. In a city as large as ours, there's got to be enough geeks around to LARP one good game. Just need some ST's and players...
quasilaur

Postby PurpleKoosh » Tue Jul 27, 2004 1:24 am

Speaking as someone who's been going to SF conventions for 20 years, married to someone who writes for RPGs...why? The playa is an alternate universe all on its own, without having to worry who's going to cast Obfuscate on you the minute you walk into camp.
Anything purple is mine. Anything else can be dyed or painted.
PurpleKoosh

Burning Since: 2003

Postby quasilaur » Tue Jul 27, 2004 4:22 am

It's mainly because I like having opportunities that I feel I can do just about anything I want anywhere I want... so I thought that if I wanted to LARP it would be neat if that was an option in BRC.

This is not to say that yes, BurningMan is DEFINITELY an alternate universe in itself... admittedly it is. I've walked around the playa as a Superhero before and people were perfectly fine w/ it.

It' was just a random thought... esp. considering I remember one year someone brought the Rocky Horror Picture Show... (which I've found to be a similar kind of crowd to LARPers.)