Teachers -Left out in the cold

Share your views on the policies, philosophies, and spirit of Burning Man.

Teachers -Left out in the cold

Postby beatsnotbombs » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:27 pm

I am curious if this topic has ever come up before in the community. I am a teacher of 7 years who has miraculously made it to the burn twice. As I as sure many people do, I had to do some pretty elaborate schedule rearranging and storytelling to make the burn.

If you aren't aware, schools usually begin before or on the week of burning man. This has happened to me while teaching in California, South Carolina, Montana and now in North Carolina. I teach kindergarten. The first few weeks are vital for the rest of the year. In most grades this is true to some extent. My experiences at the burn have been invaluable in teaching me the true nature of humans. It has opened my heart and mind to best accept and love each child who comes in my room for who THEY are. I wish every teacher could be schooled on the principles of Burning Man.

My questions:
Does it effect our community to have one group (teachers) un(der)represented at the burn?
Could teachers being part of Burning Man allow for a massive ripple effect of burner principles?
What advice would you give someone whose lively hood and true calling needed them during the burn? How would you decide?
Are there other groups that are left out?

Yours Truly,
Got tickets, guilty conscious.
beatsnotbombs

Re: Teachers -Left out in the cold

Postby Sham » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:42 pm

This is the same issue that many college students have. They don't want to miss their first week of school. Some can juggle and some can't. I think if you're suggesting that the event take place on a different date, that's not going to happen. It always has ended on Labor Day. It would be like trying to change the date of Christmas, because it was too close to New Years.
Sham

Postby VultureChow » Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:49 pm

School starts around here after Labor Day.