Video and photo sharing?

Share your views on the policies, philosophies, and spirit of Burning Man.

Video and photo sharing?

Postby Theres Always One » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:56 pm

I'm a relative newbie and I was the first of my friends to go to the burn. This past, year, a handful of more people went to the burn (all their first time) and I now I see them posting videos of the temple burn and the man burn where lots of other people who haven't gone can see it. Now, I understand the whole "no video/picture could do it justice" and I agree. But, I kind of feel like some things like the temple burn, man burn, or the sunrise should be kind of left for someone to discover on their own when they get there. And not to say that people can't go out and find this stuff if they wanted to but I would leave it up to them to seek out how much they want to see beforehand. I was mocked for "taking it too seriously" and being "burnier than thou" and every single person who has been disagrees with me. Am I in the wrong here?
Theres Always One

Re: Video and photo sharing?

Postby hookahdude » Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:05 pm

Theres Always One wrote:I'm a relative newbie and I was the first of my friends to go to the burn. This past, year, a handful of more people went to the burn (all their first time) and I now I see them posting videos of the temple burn and the man burn where lots of other people who haven't gone can see it. Now, I understand the whole "no video/picture could do it justice" and I agree. But, I kind of feel like some things like the temple burn, man burn, or the sunrise should be kind of left for someone to discover on their own when they get there. And not to say that people can't go out and find this stuff if they wanted to but I would leave it up to them to seek out how much they want to see beforehand. I was mocked for "taking it too seriously" and being "burnier than thou" and every single person who has been disagrees with me. Am I in the wrong here?