Fine Art and the photo policy

Share your views on the policies, philosophies, and spirit of Burning Man.

Fine Art and the photo policy

Postby Photino Bird » Mon Jun 20, 2011 3:25 pm

Hello -
I looked, but couldn't quite find what I was looking for regarding my particular concern here, but please, pardon me if this has been covered and I missed it.

I am a working artist and my focus is on installation and photography. Art is my full time job, and I also teach art at the university level (MFA from The School of the Museum of Fine Arts). I was contemplating doing some work at Burning Man, but I had heard through the grapevine that the photo policy was "unusual."

Looking at the policy I have a couple of particular worries.

- I would have to register my camera the same as say, CNN or Vice Guide. That is rather unusual for the field.

- "Before members of the media can make any use of the images recorded at the event, other than for personal use, they must obtain written permission from Burning Man. Such written permission will be limited to the particular project described, and may be subject to restrictions. Written permission can be granted only by Marian Goodell, Mistress of Communications. "

Since I would be classed as "media" this would seem to apply. This also seems extremely restrictive. It also becomes problematic, as it is not unusual for an artist to create multiple projects from a single body of source material. We also have a tendency to revisit and revamp projects over time. Would this mean that in 10 years if I went back to my source images to use them in something new, that I would have to get permission again? What makes up a "project" anyway? Often the artist themselves are unable to determine when one project morphs into another. My thesis project went through 7 iterations at least.