Tech Advice for all, and for all subjects

All things outside of Burning Man.

Postby DVD Burner » Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:53 pm

Kinetic V wrote:I'll toss out a question. Can anyone recommend an relatively stable Draft 2.0 N wireless router that can be relied upon to at least stay operational without requiring a reboot once every 12 hours on a good day? And yes I updated the firmware, don't go there.

Anyone recommending Belkin products should not bother to post.



Have you tried Linksys?

not suggesting it. just wanna see what your feedback is cause I'm having the same problem.

I do like netgear. Buffalo is one of my favorites at the moment.
I haven't finished testing the Linksys N series yet. Just got one for a client.


I used to hate D-Link but they have a new series out now that so far seems real stable, inexpensive and easy to use finally. I even bought one of their wireless cards for my laptop. It's still going even after I dropped my laptop on it. (yeah I know.) :x
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Dork » Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:14 pm

Kinetic V wrote:I'll toss out a question. Can anyone recommend an relatively stable Draft 2.0 N wireless router that can be relied upon to at least stay operational without requiring a reboot once every 12 hours on a good day? And yes I updated the firmware, don't go there.

Anyone recommending Belkin products should not bother to post.


What are the symptoms with the existing router? Could the problem actually be with the modem? Every problem I've had with unstable connections has turned out to be a crappy modem or modem-router conflict that was solved by getting a new modem.
User avatar
Dork
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Postby DVD Burner » Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Dork wrote:What are the symptoms with the existing router? Could the problem actually be with the modem? Every problem I've had with unstable connections has turned out to be a crappy modem or modem-router conflict that was solved by getting a new modem.


I've replaced 5 linksys routers this year and I could only wish it would hve been because of the modem.
there are actually really bad routers out there. I was shocked to see the linksys routers go bad. I've been endorsing them.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:26 pm

AINT THIS SOME SHIT!

I go to look up what's new with the Buffalo series and get this:

Regrettably, the Court of Appeals has decided not to stay the injunction in the CSIRO v. Buffalo et al litigation during the appeal period. Although Buffalo is confident that the final decision in the appeal will be favorable and that the injunction will be lifted, Buffalo is presently unable to supply wireless LAN equipment compliant with IEEE 802.11a and 802.11g standards in the United States until that decision is issued.


And followed the link to read the additional:

http://www.buffalotech.com/press/releas ... ro-appeal/

BUFFALO ISSUES A STATEMENT ABOUT THE CSIRO APPEAL
Backed By Industry Leading Technology Companies, Buffalo Expects The United States Court of Appeals Will Overturn Its Decision
2007-11-21

AUSTIN, TX– November 21, 2007 - Buffalo Technology, a global leader in the design, development and manufacturing of wired and wireless networking, storage and memory solutions today released a statement, which provides an update regarding the status of the injunction imposed by the Eastern District of Texas with respect to the offer to sale, sell, use, import or manufacture of Buffalo’s IEEE 802.11a and 802.11g standard compliant products in Commonwealth Scientific Research and Industrial Organization v. Buffalo Technology USA, Inc. and Buffalo, Inc.

As you may recall, from Melco’s letter of September 30, 2007, Buffalo appealed the district court’s summary judgment ruling and its entry of the permanent injunction to the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. As part of that appeal, Buffalo sought a stay of the injunction. After a delay of two months, the Federal Circuit issued a disappointing order denying the stay of the injunction without providing any substantive analysis. The decision also did not address the looming issue of when and whether research organizations that do not manufacture or sell a product are entitled to an injunction in light of the Supreme Court’s decision in Ebay v. MercExchange. The Court of Appeals also failed to address similar concerns raised in by three amicus groups of 19 leading companies (including, Intel, Microsoft, Atheros, Accton, etc.) in the wireless LAN equipment industry. Notably, however, the Court of Appeals stated that its decision with respect to the stay was “without prejudice[e to] the ultimate disposition of this case by a merits panel.â€
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Kinetik V » Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:10 pm

DVD Burner wrote:
Kinetic V wrote:I'll toss out a question. Can anyone recommend an relatively stable Draft 2.0 N wireless router that can be relied upon to at least stay operational without requiring a reboot once every 12 hours on a good day? And yes I updated the firmware, don't go there.

Anyone recommending Belkin products should not bother to post.



Have you tried Linksys?

not suggesting it. just wanna see what your feedback is cause I'm having the same problem.

I do like netgear. Buffalo is one of my favorites at the moment.
I haven't finished testing the Linksys N series yet. Just got one for a client.


I used to hate D-Link but they have a new series out now that so far seems real stable, inexpensive and easy to use finally. I even bought one of their wireless cards for my laptop. It's still going even after I dropped my laptop on it. (yeah I know.) :x


The problem I had with the Belkin is it would just crap out...I could be connected just fine, streaming Sirius's online music feed and doing all kinds of things when poof, the connection would drop, then a check of both Windows (Vista...cough, cough) and my Dell wireless utilities showed there were no access points to be found. This also seemed to happen overnight..I'd be working fine, shut off my laptop and the next morning when I turned on the laptop there was no wireless access point. I ended up having to go unplug/replug in the damn router to get it to work again...meanwhile another laptop connected to the same router via ethernet worked without fuss.

After fighting it, spending too much time digging through forums and websites and trying everything short of doing a chicken dance in a tutu to get the thing to stay up it got stuck on the shelf and the old reliable Linksys WRT54G with the DD-WRT firmware got put back in service. Stable, solid as a rock, the WRT54G is my standard for how a router should perform. Heck it's the only router the Federal Reserve permitted it's employees to VPN with and for good reason....the damn thing just works. But even with tweaking the transmit power up from factory defaults to about 65 or 70, I still don't have quite enough range or penetration power to cover the house. That coupled with the fact I want to take advantage of the Draft N wifi cards in the laptops is what's making me want to do the upgrade.

Other things worthy of mention...my routers are hooked up to a UPS / line conditioner to insure clean power but I tested with / without the unit being plugged in to it. Interference wise the cordless phones in the house are Dect 6.0 units, the microwave was unplugged, and the closest other WiFi access point I could track down while driving was from the feedlot about 9 miles away. So with that being said...I'm just not sure what to think.

As far as replacement choices, I stay away from Buffalo due to the lawsuit. I used to use SMC stuff a couple of years back but then I had a bad experience with firmware jacking up a Barricade router so I never went back to them. I have no experience with Netgear, and I don't want to rely on C-Net's reviews as gospel so...here I am asking for advice.
Kinetic V
~~~~~~
When you finally let go, only then will you learn how to live.
I bring order to chaos. And I bring chaos to those who deserve it.
User avatar
Kinetik V
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:43 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Burning Since: 2002
Camp Name: Sanctuary West

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:12 am

well from what I read you seem to be on the right track K.
A few other things you might try with the Linksys. replace the antenna's and place extensions away from the router for better distance. Linksys sells the antennas to that router. They are decent but comp usa has their own version for about 20-30 bucks less and they boost 10db. And I forgot, compusa will close after new years so there should be some excellent deals right now.


The other thing I would check would be the channels that you are using.
6 and 11 work best. (go for 6. less traffic. not the best frequency though.)

You can also make your own antenna. I have to go through my stuff to find the plans but if I find it when not busy I'll post it.


There are also different firmwares you can use with the wrt series. you need to know what version router you have.

A few links: http://www.wrtrouters.com/firmware/wrt54g/

Also this site (dd-wrt.com) has great custom firmware. http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads.php
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:31 am

Image

click the pic for more info










You can also try "htttp://www.Openwrt.org". They have a table to help you identify what router is compatible for their firmware.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Kinetik V » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:11 am

All of that is right on track with what I've already done. I've got the upgraded antennas, and I prefer Channel 11...always have since day 1 of setting up this stuff.

Also thanks for posting the link and screenshot to DD-WRT's stuff. They don't get enough attention IMHO.

And as for making your own antennas....that's on my project list for after the holidays when the snow should really be flying out here. And when it gets to flying here and especially drifting....I ain't going nowhere so I'll have plenty of time to tinker with antenna design.
Kinetic V
~~~~~~
When you finally let go, only then will you learn how to live.
I bring order to chaos. And I bring chaos to those who deserve it.
User avatar
Kinetik V
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:43 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Burning Since: 2002
Camp Name: Sanctuary West

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:32 pm

Does anyone know of a free tarball decompresser? (rar/tar)

winrar and winzip are not free anymore.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby BitterDan » Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:55 pm

Give me your email address, I'll send you an older version. It's 990k.
Camp FuckIt + MT - 7:15 & D (maybe)
User avatar
BitterDan
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: Moonshine Tavern - 9'oclock, bitch

Postby Toolmaker » Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am

DVD Burner wrote:Does anyone know of a free tarball decompresser? (rar/tar)

winrar and winzip are not free anymore.


7 zip does TAR and RAR .. open source too

http://sourceforge.net/projects/sevenzip/
Toolmaker
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:44 pm

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:25 am

thanks. just got back. A friend hooked me up.


thanks again.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:36 pm

DVD Burner wrote:In Montreal they have a place called Addisons. They have the exact parts and all you are looking for and it's all at an excellent price. The place is awesome.
I cant remember what the web address is and I dont think they sell across the net but I will ask my friend and as soon as I get the info I'll post.
The place is well worth the time if you need any........ANY kind of electronic parts. Actually better than zacks when it was in san fran.



So getting back to Addisons, here's the link: https://www.addison-electronique.com/ca ... ca32dc28e6

And after going back to their site to get security video cards..........too expensive for that but still great for parts. They have everything.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby oneeyeddick » Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:45 pm

When I am posting here, how do I change the link
to what I want it to say instead of the http/address ?
We have an obligation to make space for everyone, we have no obligation to make that space pleasant.
User avatar
oneeyeddick
 
Posts: 5589
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Probably in your pants
Burning Since: 1996

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:55 pm

oneeyeddick wrote:When I am posting here, how do I change the link
to what I want it to say instead of the http/address ?




Code: Select all
[url=http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1115416829416&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=2941619675B04]replace the antenna's[/url] and place



Notice how the = sign is after the "url"? write what you want to say first, then highlight it. click the "url" button once highlighted, then put your "=" sign in and paste the url after it.

Viola!


It's just as much fun or even more fun with images:

Code: Select all
[quote="DVD Burner"][url=http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/ddwrt.php][img]http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/images/info.png[/img][/url]
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby oneeyeddick » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:06 pm

this is mine

Thanks DVD !! :D
We have an obligation to make space for everyone, we have no obligation to make that space pleasant.
User avatar
oneeyeddick
 
Posts: 5589
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Probably in your pants
Burning Since: 1996

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:09 pm

There is that new "youtube" button in there also. I have yet to try that.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby GREENPENIS » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:17 pm

Click it first, paste your link, click again, done.
I'm taking Viagra and drinking prune juice - I don't know if I'm coming or going.
-- Rodney Dangerfield
User avatar
GREENPENIS
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:59 pm
Location: in between the B(.)(.)BY BAR

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:55 pm

Download your Google operating system now!


Image

Image
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Box Burner » Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:09 pm

Wow. runs on Ubuntu Linux. wonder what the difference is?
Dance in the heart of chaos. . . . .

ὁ δὲ ἀνεξέταστος βίος οὐ βιωτὸς ἀνθρώπῳ
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - --- Σωκράτης

.
User avatar
Box Burner
 
Posts: 5770
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 2:33 am
Location: Kentucky

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:14 pm

Box Burner wrote:Wow. runs on Ubuntu Linux. wonder what the difference is?


http://google.blognewschannel.com/archi ... right-now/
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:16 pm

for anyone interested in the mobile linux side of things, have you seen "Poky" http://linuxdevices.com/news/NS6869195570.html

for these guys and the likes: http://linuxdevices.com/news/NS5429713730.html

Image


And these laptops come out the first of the year: http://www.linuxdevices.com/news/NS6962839488.html
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Dork » Thu Dec 27, 2007 5:00 pm

Ok - I have a question. I've got tons of music and other random crap on a USB hard drive. I have another USB hard drive that I'd like to plug in regularly to do a backup, then unplug so it's not connected to the power line. But I don't want to delete and recopy each time - I just want it to pick up any changes without me having to think too much.

Is there an easy and cheap (or free?) solution for this? I'm running Windows XP pro on a laptop.

Extra bonus if I could mark specific folders to be mirrored whenever I plug in a different USB hard drive (my mp3 player shows up as one)
User avatar
Dork
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Postby Toolmaker » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:09 pm

Dork wrote:I don't want to delete and recopy each time - I just want it to pick up any changes without me having to think too much.

Is there an easy and cheap (or free?) solution for this? I'm running Windows XP pro on a laptop.

Extra bonus if I could mark specific folders to be mirrored whenever I plug in a different USB hard drive (my mp3 player shows up as one


There are plenty of "backup" solutions that offer the ability to configure for specific folders. I use commercial stuff. I know.. evil.. but its all I have that I know. I usually check places like majorgeeks.com for the freeware/shareware. As far as open source goes most of my pals use Amanda. From what I understand its pretty good, I just havent had time to try it out yet.

http://amanda.zmanda.com/

edit to add

For other open source needs check out

http://sourceforge.net/
Toolmaker
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:44 pm

Postby BitterDan » Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:50 pm

Hey Dork, I use a program called FolderClone for something similar to what you are looking for. Basically it scans a set of folders and looks for new files and then copies them over. I think it was $20.
Camp FuckIt + MT - 7:15 & D (maybe)
User avatar
BitterDan
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: Moonshine Tavern - 9'oclock, bitch

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:29 pm

If you got the extra 1600.00 you can if you like get one of these Porshe cell phones:

http://www.tgdaily.com/index.php?option ... rrentPic=3
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Kinetik V » Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:41 pm

Ok, this is going to make a few heads turn but here goes. I'm one of the few that's stayed with IE instead of switching to Firefox. But I'm thinking it's time to make the change...so here's my questions.
A: Is it worth the trouble to mess with?
B: If I do take the plunge...are there specific plugins or configuration settings that people would recommend?

I'd like to be able to take care of my daily news junkie fix and watch video clips, along with all content on TMZ.com yet not be bombarded by flash ads and general crap. Suggestions anyone?
Kinetic V
~~~~~~
When you finally let go, only then will you learn how to live.
I bring order to chaos. And I bring chaos to those who deserve it.
User avatar
Kinetik V
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:43 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Burning Since: 2002
Camp Name: Sanctuary West

Postby Box Burner » Sat Dec 29, 2007 2:48 am

I have had no problems with it. there are a couple of sites that do not support it. However you do not have to uninstall IE to install and run firefox. You can even run both at the same time.
Dance in the heart of chaos. . . . .

ὁ δὲ ἀνεξέταστος βίος οὐ βιωτὸς ἀνθρώπῳ
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - --- Σωκράτης

.
User avatar
Box Burner
 
Posts: 5770
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 2:33 am
Location: Kentucky

Postby DVD Burner » Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:29 am

Firefox has no irc that I know of.

Just get the original firefox "MOZILLA"


I like "seamonkey" myself.

Firefox is the small version of both from the same people that make Mozilla and seamonkey. I dont know that firefox has the news and mail client. Maybe someone in this thread knows but Mozilla and seamonkey do and an irc.


What's the matter? You been using "NETSCAPE"? :lol:
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Kinetik V » Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:03 am

No Nutscrape here...but that link brought back some memories. I remember using Mosaic and looking at someone's online fish tank webcam thinking it was pretty cool. Then I went out and paid $40 for Netscape...and things were never the same...I actually created my own sites and it's been fun ever since. And anything was better than using CompuServe or even...gasp, Prodigy. (All on a Packard Bell Legend 386SX that I thought was a powerhouse back then!)

I gotta admit I had a blast with something way before the web. I ran a multi-line BBS that had a game called Trade Wars on it. I loved that game. But alas, it joined a long list of other games that I will never play again...like Wing Commander, the original (Artdink) A-Train, and Chuck Yeager's Air Combat. (I'd love to get my hands on A-Train again!)

Anyway I'll play with Firefox later today and see how it goes. First up on today's list is an Atari 5200 Supersystem emulator and to track down an emulator so my g/f can play the original Donkey Kong and Donkey Kong Jr. games on her laptop when she's on the road.
Kinetic V
~~~~~~
When you finally let go, only then will you learn how to live.
I bring order to chaos. And I bring chaos to those who deserve it.
User avatar
Kinetik V
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:43 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Burning Since: 2002
Camp Name: Sanctuary West

PreviousNext

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mdmf007 and 4 guests