Tech Advice for all, and for all subjects

All things outside of Burning Man.

Postby Ugly Dougly » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:03 pm

Got it. It's stock. Me checking the Ebay. Gives thanx.
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16503
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby gyre » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:07 pm

Might be worth looking for bmw forums too.

There's Hemmings, Autoweek, GRM, et al
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby gyre » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:09 pm

User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby Ugly Dougly » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:52 pm

Thanks, Gyre, I'll check it out.
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16503
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby Ranger Genius » Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:08 pm

MDMF: gotta be a stuck "Shift" key. Caps lock won't change the numbers.
“We cross our bridges when we come to them and burn them behind us, with nothing to show for our progress except a memory of the smell of smoke, and a presumption that once our eyes watered.”
User avatar
Ranger Genius
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:07 am
Location: Behind the Zion Curtain

Postby mdmf007 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 4:24 pm

Oldguy wrote:My Windows XP is stuck in a start-up to restart loop. It won't start Windows. I've tried safe mode and last working configuration, but it just starts to load Xp and then goes into restart over and over. I figure I've picked up a trogan or worm virus. Any Help?


Laptop or Desktop?

Laptop. - You can shut down, pull the drive out and use it as a USB drive. Get the files you want off of it, before you do ireperable damage to it trying to start and stop it.

You will need an ATA or SATA adapter from a computer store. It is merely a case that hods your laptop drive and enables you to plug it in to a USB port. The drive then shows as an external drive.
14.99 for SATA and 24.99 for ATA online adapter, I bought one of each for 9.99

I would do that before goign much further or your going to lose it all.
after that you can do other more aggressive mesures to fix your computer.

Like:
upon start up F1 to boot menu, make sure your HD is the boot. Take out CD's and try restart.

If that doesnt work - try F10 at start up to restore windows. From here you may create a partition that all your data will be dumped too and reinstall windows all automatically. Or simply overwrite it all and resintall windows - losing all data. You will be asked for your preference.
User avatar
mdmf007
Moderator
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: my computer
Burning Since: 1996
Camp Name: ESD

Postby mdmf007 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 4:25 pm

Ranger Genius wrote:MDMF: gotta be a stuck "Shift" key. Caps lock won't change the numbers.


Its like the functions have been reversed - for numbers only. I have to Shift key to get numbers. The symbols !@#$%^&*() are the default now on the desktop.

funny - never saw this before.
User avatar
mdmf007
Moderator
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: my computer
Burning Since: 1996
Camp Name: ESD

Postby DVD Burner » Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:18 pm

YouTube support of IPv6 seen in dramatic traffic spike

by Carolyn Duffy Marsan, Network World

http://www.macworld.com/article/146056/ ... c=rss_main

Editor's Note: The following article is reprinted from Network World.

Google has quietly turned on IPv6 support for its YouTube video streaming Web site, sending a spike of IPv6 traffic across the Internet that has continued from last Thursday until Monday.

Industry observers say YouTube appeared to be supporting IPv6 in production mode, as opposed to running a test of the next-generation Internet protocol.

“On Thursday, midday California time, we saw a large amount of inbound IPv6 traffic, which we knew came from Google,â€
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:26 am

Currently Recruiting IPv6 Trial Users

http://www.comcast6.net/

This site is intended to provide the latest information about Comcast's IPv6-related work. In 2010, we will be conducting several IPv6 technical trials in our production network, with customers, in order to prepare for the IPv6 transition. This site will be updated as new information about these trials comes out, and as other IPv6-related work occurs. We are currently looking for IPv6 trial volunteers, [url=http://www.comcast6.net/volunteer.php]so if you are interested please sign up now.
[/url]
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Dork » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:05 am

Does anyone have experience with Asus laptops? I'm in the market for a new 15"-ish laptop with a decent video card and I found a deal on one that looks pretty good other than not knowing anything about Asus.
User avatar
Dork
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Postby DVD Burner » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:24 pm

My opinion?

I have yet to see, have, own any thing that Asus has ever made I did not think/know was awesome.

Even used.

My opinion, Asus make the best pc equipment on the planet and so does Dell/HP and Lamborghini.

(Asus makes chips and other parts for Dell and HP and also make the official Lamborghini laptop for Lamborghini themselves.)
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby unjonharley » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:00 am

Got put on notice that webtv is going out.. So after all these years I have a lap top.. What a pain in the ass to do anything.. And slow beyond anything.. I payed for a ((Hi Seed Internet conection) What a crock.

So the Q iswhy is it so much faster to move around with the Hi Speed turned off??
User avatar
unjonharley
 
Posts: 10005
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:05 am
Location: Salem Or.

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:03 am

Probably because you have something hooked up wrong.

That said, you should probably post specifics if you intend to solve the problem.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby unjonharley » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:29 am

DVD Burner wrote:Probably because you have something hooked up wrong.

That said, you should probably post specifics if you intend to solve the problem.


It's a lap top.. It is pluged into a wall outlet.. It is pluged into a phone outlet.. It is turned on.. The providers cd is inserted.. The cd takes over the lap top.. Once set up I press a botton and it conects me to " Hi Speed Internet" There is no way in hell I can hook anything up wrong..

When I want to go to a page the search takes 2 to 3 min. to even return to it own home page.. With the hi speed turned off it's only a click and the requested page appears.

I'm used to one of those phony little webtv's.. When I request a page I press a botton and it appears instancely...
User avatar
unjonharley
 
Posts: 10005
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:05 am
Location: Salem Or.

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:51 pm

first thing you did wrong is use the cd.

Those things never work right.

From what I see you are using the ISP's application to access the internet when you do not need to do that.

Yep it will slow you down.

You dont have a tech you trust on your end to hook things up for you?

Give him 35.00, it'll be worth it.

You need to get rid of that ISP software. It's gonna screw you in the end.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Kinetik V » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:06 pm

Someone does tech support for $35 an hour anymore? Amazing!
Kinetic V
~~~~~~
When you finally let go, only then will you learn how to live.
I bring order to chaos. And I bring chaos to those who deserve it.
User avatar
Kinetik V
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:43 am
Location: Fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada
Burning Since: 2002
Camp Name: Sanctuary West

Postby unjonharley » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:11 pm

DVD Burner wrote:first thing you did wrong is use the cd.

Those things never work right.

From what I see you are using the ISP's application to access the internet when you do not need to do that.

Yep it will slow you down.

You dont have a tech you trust on your end to hook things up for you?

Give him 35.00, it'll be worth it.

You need to get rid of that ISP software. It's gonna screw you in the end.



I do a few favors for the techs at a university.. Guess I'll just hual this thing in and let them play with it for me..

I have no idea what ISP is or stands for..
User avatar
unjonharley
 
Posts: 10005
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:05 am
Location: Salem Or.

Postby Oldguy » Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:54 pm

My desktop is dead. Time to get a new puter. 12 years on a cheap E-machine from wally World. Looking for towers at yardsales. It's not worth fixing, disposible technology. I'm using the library for now...
Image current moon
Burning Man is an exercise—indeed, a challenge—in balancing cooperation, self-reliance, individual expression, and creative collaboration in the formation of an artistic community. E. Britannica
User avatar
Oldguy
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 12:22 am
Location: LiveOak Cal
Burning Since: 2005
Camp Name: Monkey Business Annex of Banana Camp

Postby gyre » Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:50 pm

unjonharley wrote:I do a few favors for the techs at a university.. Guess I'll just hual this thing in and let them play with it for me..

I have no idea what ISP is or stands for..

I am far from expert in this, but this is what I did recently.
Started with basic loading on the machine.
Sorted out my wireless and router software.
Basic firewall and anti-virus stuff.
Loaded firefox and adblock plus.

I've been experimenting with some of the firefox addons and I recommend some experimenting and shopping.
I'm having a conflict with two space and speed hungry programs and will be using one or the other.
You can experiment by turning one program on or off or disabled.

I'm about to clear everything but the basics and start over.
Adblock plus is mandatory though and enhances speed.

Don't forget to get updates that you want for pdf and video, etc.
Pick and choose and don't put automatic updates on except for anti-virus.

Don't use antivirus multiple programs except in a format that can be turned on and off, manual use
Some embed and fight each other.

ISP is internet service provider, where the feed comes from.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:14 pm

Clear everything and start over?

GEEEEZZZZ!

I usually just set the darn thing up right at install and it's done for 10 years.

All this other "ad on" and No anti virus?

:? :shock:
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby Ugly Dougly » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:17 pm

When's the last time you cleaned your refrigerator?
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16503
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby DVD Burner » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:19 pm

Well, if you dont put junk in it and only put things you know you are gonna eat, a little Arm & hammer, it can go a long ways.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:59 pm

I'm just talking about extraneous stuff and programs that need to be dumped or may be corrupted, not everything.
And it's early use on this machine, so history, etc
Like I said, I leave the basic architecture in place.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby gyre » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:02 pm

DVD Burner wrote:Well, if you dont put junk in it and only put things you know you are gonna eat, a little Arm & hammer, it can go a long ways.
And how do you know what a perfect setup is without experimenting?

When I've asked around, no one has had any advice on the new software I'm using, including you.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby Ugly Dougly » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:14 am

So it looks like I'll soon be installing an alternator into a 1987 BMW 325.

I got feeling that the Krauts have it wired so that I'll need to put er up on the rack and get $500 of specialized tools. :?
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16503
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby ygmir » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:53 am

Ugly Dougly wrote:So it looks like I'll soon be installing an alternator into a 1987 BMW 325.

I got feeling that the Krauts have it wired so that I'll need to put er up on the rack and get $500 of specialized tools. :?


Dougly:

just park by the road, with the hood up, wear a short skirt, and bend over the engine......someone will undoubtedly stop and fix it for you.......

your hair in pigtails and a bewildered look will probably entice them to even pay for the parts.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 27139
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby Ugly Dougly » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:19 pm

Hey sailor, you got a metric screwdriver?
User avatar
Ugly Dougly
 
Posts: 16503
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:31 am
Location: San Jose, CA
Burning Since: 1996

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:41 pm

gyre wrote:
DVD Burner wrote:Well, if you dont put junk in it and only put things you know you are gonna eat, a little Arm & hammer, it can go a long ways.
And how do you know what a perfect setup is without experimenting?

When I've asked around, no one has had any advice on the new software I'm using, including you.


What new software?

Was not aware of that, and I do have 27 years experience in the field and 20 years with Microsoft products.

I'm pretty good at setting up systems, once, that last a very very very long time.
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

Postby gyre » Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:50 pm

Moatly I'm trying out new firefox add ons.

I've been using session manager and a tab storage program.
It seems they can't run at the same time, though they can work together by transferring info.
It's a case of 'cassa contra cassa'.

There are others I plan to try.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

From the YouTube Blog a few hours ago.

Postby DVD Burner » Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:54 pm

...
Image

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
User avatar
DVD Burner
 
Posts: 9741
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:09 am

PreviousNext

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests