new restriction?

Want to request a new feature? You've come to the right place...

new restriction?

Postby III » Thu Mar 18, 2004 9:51 am

today i got this:

"You cannot make another post so soon after your last; please try again in a short while."


while trying to post. is this a new thing? what's the time limit on that?
User avatar
III
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby Zephryus » Thu Mar 18, 2004 9:56 am

If it's consistent, it can't be more than two minutes (my record minimum).
User avatar
Zephryus
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:06 am
Location: On A Goddamn Boat

Postby precipitate » Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:25 am

It's not new. It's part of phpBB, and the default setting is like 30 seconds.
precipitate
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere near an ocean and a desert and a mountain

Postby juanicoheal » Thu Mar 18, 2004 1:25 pm

What? Does it prevent people from talking to themselves?

oh nevermind
User avatar
juanicoheal
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: British Columbia

Postby precipitate » Thu Mar 18, 2004 1:56 pm

It's supposed to help prevent robots (or trolls) from flooding the board
with posts. Dunno if it's effective or not.

And the default is 15 seconds, I checked. Dunno what it's set at here.
precipitate
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere near an ocean and a desert and a mountain

Postby Tancorix » Thu Mar 18, 2004 7:27 pm

It comes in handy if you click on Submit twice because your connection slowed down...and your not sure if the first post was submitted. It keeps you from having to edit the second post with a nevermind comment.
User avatar
Tancorix
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 7:56 pm
Location: Not here, not there. I'm somewhere though.

Postby technopatra » Mon Mar 22, 2004 9:15 pm

Hi guys, sorry for the radio slience, sometimes the default world just plots to keep me away...

We kept the default setting, so it's 15 seconds. Man, III, I know your mind works quickly, but you must type like the wind, too.
technopatra
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 3:04 pm
Location: SF, CA

Postby III » Mon Mar 22, 2004 10:35 pm

nah - it was the result of a bounce. everything's fine. it was just a funky error message...
User avatar
III
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:14 pm


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest