Login Box in the Top Right of the Main Page

We're doing it wrong...we know

Login Box in the Top Right of the Main Page

Postby rodent » Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:31 pm

Filling out and clicking the "login" link a the top right hand side of the main page sends you to the login page, where you have to retype in your name and password. This shouldn't happen. Either the "login" link should log you in or the "name" and "password" fields should be removed.

I still like the forum though, just so you folks know you're doing a good job.

rodent (putting the eek in geek)
"There's not a word yet,
for old friends, who just met"
-Gonzo, "I'm Going to go Back There Someday"
User avatar
rodent
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:21 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California

Postby rodent » Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:33 pm

FYI, the login area DOES disappear from the corner after you've logged in. To duplicate this problem, you'll have to logout first.

rodent (putting the eek in geek)
"There's not a word yet,
for old friends, who just met"
-Gonzo, "I'm Going to go Back There Someday"
User avatar
rodent
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:21 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California

Postby III » Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:34 pm

furthermore, the "log me automatically" check box fills out the information in the useless upper right hand dialog box. there's some crossed wires, somewhere.
User avatar
III
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby technopatra » Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:54 pm

hmm...I couldn't recreate that bug. Can you tell us what OS/browser you're using?

~technopatra~
technopatra
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 3:04 pm
Location: SF, CA

Postby III » Tue Oct 07, 2003 10:26 am

osx/safari. that could well be the problem.
User avatar
III
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:14 pm

Postby precipitate » Tue Oct 07, 2003 11:12 am

> osx/safari. that could well be the problem.

Doesn't work for me in Windows 2000 or Win 98 with:

IE6
Opera 7.2

But it does work in Win2K with Mozilla 1.4.
precipitate
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere near an ocean and a desert and a mountain

Re: Login Box in the Top Right of the Main Page

Postby mancanburntoo » Sat Oct 11, 2003 9:26 pm

rodent wrote:Filling out and clicking the "login" link a the top right hand side of the main page sends you to the login page, where you have to retype in your name and password.

I get the same thing on my win 2000 and 98 boxes using I.E6 and Netscape. I just look around until I find a post I want to reply to and login that way.
Long live the Dharma Pig
User avatar
mancanburntoo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:38 am
Location: 5,280 feet high

Postby Alpha » Sun Oct 12, 2003 8:18 am

technopatra,

I copied the HTML for each of the login screens and played around with them a bit on my web server. On the form-processing side, the only significant difference is that the mini-login does not have the session id (sid) in the POSTed data. Instead, it's in the query string.

I believe you can fix this by adding the sid in a hidden input field right below the <form> tag, rather than putting it on the query string in the form action field.

Code: Select all
<input type="hidden" name="sid" value="(whatever)" />
User avatar
Alpha
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 4:55 pm

Postby technopatra » Mon Oct 13, 2003 12:59 pm

Thanks Alpha! I'll be sure that Spanky sees this.
technopatra
 
Posts: 728
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 3:04 pm
Location: SF, CA

Postby blikum » Thu Oct 30, 2003 2:33 pm

Thank you all for alerted us to this issue. I have discovered the culprit and fixed this bug. It will be rolled out very quickly.

This was a browser cookie issue. There was a missing PHP tag in the header form that was not allowing session IDs to be passed as a hidden tag.

Blikum
EPlaya Admin Team
User avatar
blikum
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:24 pm
Location: san francisco


Return to ePlaya Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests