Can gate personnel turn around people with tickets?

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike

Can gate personnel turn around people with tickets?

Postby servicio » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:03 pm

Hi All,

This is Omer from istanbul and it is my first time. I read all the forum but could not find an info about that.
I will come to burning man on wednesday but my friends will go there on Monday. They will bring my tent, water and foods since they will go by car. I will come by flight 2 days after them and I will not have anything with me except my clothes..

http://www.burningman.com/whatisburning ... at_is.html
in this page, it is written that "Water, food and shelter are imperative — you will be asked to turn around at the gate if gate personnel believe you cannot meet your basic survival needs. Carefully read the Survival Guide, and prepare accordingly."...

So, if i don't have anything with me, can they turn me around? How can I prove them that I have all my survival things already brought by my friends in the camp?

If you have experiences from last years, Please let me know.
Thanks
Omer
servicio

Burning Since: 2013

Re: Can gate personnel turn around people with tickets?

Postby Canoe » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:18 pm

They can and will turn people away who obviously cannot provide for themselves.
That said, you explain that you had all your gear shipped ahead of you and brought out to the playa by your friends on Monday and it's waiting for you at your camp, which is located at _____.
People do this all the time.

I assume you're flying into Reno airpirt? Rideshare to the playa?
Make sure you have either your physical ticket or a print out of the ticket confirmation information for a Will-call ticket to show a Rideshare driver that you do indeed have a ticket.
*** http://www.burningman.com/preparation/ ***
... but don't harm the red dragon that frequents the area from time to time. He and I have an agreement.