Glass Blowers/Bead Makers on the playa?

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike

Glass Blowers/Bead Makers on the playa?

Postby Smenkare » Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:09 pm

Two of my dear friends have had some serious milestone events happen in their lives this last year(new baby, marriage, etc) and as such were unable to come to Burning Man this year :(

I wanted to make a set of rings for them, forged on the playa comemorating our friendship and the journey we've taken together through some tough times.

It would mean all the much more to us if the focal beads used to make these rings were born on the playa.

If any of you have interest in helping me, Please send me a message,
Much love and peace,
Smen <3
That which does not kill you makes you stranger.
Smenkare

Burning Since: 2011

Re: Glass Blowers/Bead Makers on the playa?

Postby theCryptofishist » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:57 pm

I have some experience with glass, and I don't think it's a suitable substitute for a stone as something set into a ring. I don't see rings being made with "beads" either, in fact I'm a little confused by that. Earrings, necklaces, but rings? I suspect that the fingers are too busy and vulnerable to keep the glass from breaking. Eric might have more to say, he's a jeweler.