24' Diameter Parachute Canopy

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike

24' Diameter Parachute Canopy

Postby MistaBiggs » Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:39 am

Does anyone have plans for a 24' Diameter Parachute Canopy that has been tried / tested / and successful?

I'm a newbie (well will be this year) and I'm not exactly 100% what the conditions will be like in BRC (having never experienced it firsthand). I read several posts and articles, but I still feel very uncertain about many things.

I'm planning on buying a 24' diameter parachute and building a shade canopy to pitch a tent or two under.

I'm not very mechanically inclined ... but just about everyone I know (close friends) are. So, I could easily get help "prepping" for construction. I just don't want to show up at BM with inadequate materials. At the same time ... I don't want to "over do it" either.

Any help and / or suggestions would be GR8T!!!

Thanks in advance!!
MistaBiggs

Postby robotland » Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:54 am

There have been many posts about 'chutes in the past- try checking the archived discussions, or, hell, just ask Bob.....
I'm more of a dome guy, myself, but I know that 'chutes are better at catching and holding wind than shedding it, and even the green ones aren't thick enough to darken it up underneath. Still, you can adapt them in clever ways, as many do. Anchored securely, but given "flow room", and with wind vents cut into them and hemmed against fraying, they are flexible and extra easy to pack....I'm playing with an "umbrella" design with a small cargo 'chute and fiberglass bikeflag poles mounted on a metal hub- results to come......
Howdy From Kalamazoo
robotland

Postby MistaBiggs » Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:00 am

It could be a dome ... as it is already circular. I just need ideas on getting the shade shelter up and keeping it up (in the worst storms BRC has to offer).