Gratitude.

Want to talk about tickets? You've come to the right place

Gratitude.

Postby BirthChazz » Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:28 pm

Many thanks to all who shrugged off feelings of disillusionment to give their tickets back to STEP. It was a leap of faith, and I appreciate your generosity.

I know a lot of people who contribute a great deal to Burning Man are still looking for tickets. I want to say- thank you for participating year after year- your stories, photos and wisdom sparked my imagination, curiosity, and fueled my desire to go and be part of your community.

What I have to offer is humble- I am a nurse, a lactation consultant, a birth doula, a mother, and a friend. I try my best to provide love, caring, support, compassion and understanding to everyone who crosses my path.

I want to make it clear that by having the opportunity to attend through the STEP program, I do not feel entitled, or deserving, but simply lucky. The universe has not gifted this ticket to me because "I deserve it." It has come to me through my willingness to seek it, and from having a life that allows me to spend that much money, and leisure time- where I do not have to be working. I also have a family who will look after my child and keep him safe while I am gone. I have a husband who is biting back his disappointment at not yet having a ticket to tell me congratulations.

I am not deserving, but I do feel gratitude to my family, friends, and the openness of strangers.

Thank you for this opportunity to create, to share, to use my skills.

BirthChazz
“How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.” George Washington Carver
BirthChazz

Burning Since: 2012
Camp Name: Spanky's Wine Bar

Re: Gratitude.

Postby avalon25 » Sun Mar 04, 2012 4:16 pm

I love your post.