Rideshare from... Oz??

Materials and expertise...whether you need them or have them to share, you can let folks know here.

Rideshare from... Oz??

Postby jaytro4 » Sun May 20, 2012 8:46 pm

Hello playa mates,

This is probably the longest shot ever, but I'll give it a go anyway: My partner and I are looking for a ride to the playa from Sydney (or really, anywhere in Australia, as it's far cheaper for us to get around on our continent). On your plane, boat, personal teleportation device... If you've got space to spare, there are two of us looking for a way to get there.

This is my manifestation attempt #2 (Manifestation attempt #1 was getting tickets this year in the first place). I believe in the magic of the playa, and that what's meant to happen will.

Both my partner and I are sporadically employed right now-- He's an artist, and I'm a musician. We're lucky if we pull in $2000 a month together. But we've got a roof over our heads and food on the table, and we're pretty happy with our lives right now. Australia's a pretty awesome place-- except for how far it is from Burning Man. When I got back from the playa last year, I got it in my head that we'd be able to afford it this year if we could put away $55 a week, which seemed like pocket change. But life happened, and the car breaking down, emergency root canal, and moving to a different living space took those funds away pretty quickly.

I was absolutely elated when both my partner and I received low income tickets, but right now we've got the drive and the determination to get to the playa, but not the cash for the flight. We can pay you up to a thousand dollars, but that's about all the money we've got saved for the trip.