Keen Newport Open Shoes okay for Playa?!?

What to wear? What not to wear? Where to find and how to make anything from goggles to fantastic pieces of playawear.

Keen Newport Open Shoes okay for Playa?!?

Postby RxRebel » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:49 pm

Hey guys, this is my first year at BM & just wanted to get your opinion wearing open-toe shoes like these around the playa? I wore these to White Sands of NM & I have to say that it was a big pain because sand kept filling up my shoes making it hard & painful to walk around. There are no dunes & is flat at Black Rock City, so thinking that this won't be a problem?? Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated. I don't wanna have to go out & buy hiking boots!

Thanks!

http://www.keenfootwear.com/us/en/produ ... wport%20h2

RxRebel

Burning Since: 2010

Re: Keen Newport Open Shoes okay for Playa?!?

Postby motskyroonmatick » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:53 pm

Playa foot!
Black Rock City Welding and Repair. The Night Time Warming Station.

Card Carrying Member BRCCP.

When you pass the 4th "bridge out!" sign; the flaming death is all yours.-Knowmad-
motskyroonmatick

Burning Since: 2004
Camp Name: B.R.C. Welding&Repair.

Postby RxRebel » Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:03 pm

Would these be okay if I wore good socks you think?
RxRebel

Postby Jackass » Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:04 pm

Buy cowboy boots, paint them gold.
Sooner or later, it will get real strange...

11th Principle: Depussyfication - Keeping Burning Man potentially lethal. Token
Jackass

Postby Bob » Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:58 am

There are dunes -- silt & clay, not sand. If you have any questions about going w/ sandals or barefoot, don't. The clay will suck all the moisture out of you.

Amazing desert structures & stuff: http://sites.google.com/site/potatotrap/

"Let us say I suggest you may be human." -- Reverend Mother Gaius Helen Mohiam
Bob

Burning Since: 1986
Camp Name: Royaneh

Postby lucky420 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:31 am