making a fuax fur coat

What to wear? What not to wear? Where to find and how to make anything from goggles to fantastic pieces of playawear.

making a fuax fur coat

Postby Stolli » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:29 pm

So i really want to make a full length or 3/4 length faux fur coat for the burn (and LIB!) but i have no experience with making clothes and don't know how. I do have a lot of time on my hands though and want to give it a try! I dont really have any sewing experience (though i have sewed before) but i have access to a sewing machine + people that could potentially help me. I cant seem to find any instructions online anywhere other then an pretty unhelpful how.com article, and was wondering if any of you guys can point me in the right direction. A video would be awesome, but i imagine one likely doesn't exist. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks

-Stolli
Stolli

Re: making a fuax fur coat

Postby Drawingablank » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:32 pm

try:

This one is actually good too but you now need to sign into youtube to watch it:
http://www.youtube.com/verify_age?next_url=/watch%3Fv%3DSSZjunUwixc

The main thing with fur is to cut as close to the backing as possible and to brush the hairs away from the seams.
Savannah: I don't know what it is, but no thread here escapes alive. You'll get 1 or 2 real answers at minimum, occasionally 10 or 12, and then we flog it until it's unrecognizable and you can't get your deposit back.

Yet Another Crappy Birgin Guide
Drawingablank

Camp Name: Barbie Death Camp

Postby Savannah » Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:44 pm

Hi Stolli,

Welcome to ePlaya. Feel free to delurk in the "Introduce Yourself" forum too, if you'd like some more hellos. It's not mandatory, though.

This ultra long thread has a lot about sewing faux fur, as one of the most important & frequently worn items out there is indeed a playa coat.

Costume & Crafting Help

viewtopic.php?t=34307