Help refining lighting setup with 4 x 5m RGB LED strips

A place to discuss all things involving power and lighting. Generator tips, alternative energy, lighting your camp/bike/art/self and more.

Help refining lighting setup with 4 x 5m RGB LED strips

Postby kpsf1964 » Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:31 pm

Hi all, I'm trying to create an interior backlighting effect for the walls of our shade structure/installation and I'm new to using LED strips. I'm hoping someone can give me a little guidance

I'm looking to set up four RGB LED strips that will have their light patterns synced so that they vary in color in sync. Here's what I THINK I need:

4 x 5m/16ft SMD 5050 RGB LED strips
7 LED extension cables
3 4-pin splitters, two to combine/link the two strips running along each wall, then the third to link the two cables coming out of the 4-pin male end on the other two splitters
A sound-activated LED music controller
A power supply/driver
An AC adapter

My questions are:
- how large a power supply is needed to run 4 LED strips? Time's getting tight and boning up on Ohm's Law is a little beyond me right now . . .
- does dovetailing all four strips / cables so that they feed into one port create any issues, or affect available power for each strip? Alternately, does the increase in run length from the use of extensions affect power output to the strips?
- I've seen data repeater/RGB signal amplifiers for sale on Amazon for as little as $9 - does this bring any value, and if yes, would I need one for each strip?
- lastly, while the prices for all of the components listed above are pretty low, does anyone have any recommendations for where it's important to spend more to ensure the system is relatively bomb-proof? I'm particularly interested in ensuring the LED music controller works, and the ones I've seen on Amazon appear to have mixed reviews . . .
- Lastly, and most importantly - please let me know if this plan is completely ass-up, and if so, what i need to do the sort it...