Ohmu eyes

A place to discuss all things involving power and lighting. Generator tips, alternative energy, lighting your camp/bike/art/self and more.

Ohmu eyes

Postby ohmu » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:29 pm

My goal is to live in a monkey hut that resembles an ohmu from Nausicaa. For that, it needs 14 eyes that glow either red or blue, depending on my hut's mood. I was thinking of using those cheap LED flashlights with like a dozen LEDs arranged inside a mirror dome, putting coloured filters on them, and running them on two separate circuits that I can toggle with a switch from the inside.

But, I'm no electrician, have never wired anything before, and have never build anything revolving around LED lighting. The things I don't know could fill the internet. Can anyone with some expertise in the matter give me some pointers and ballpark figures to work with?

1. I know LEDs use very little power, but I'm going to need to run a lot of them at once (168, most likely), all night long, every night. Any ideas what kind of battery stock I need to have on hand to sustain this big array of lights that I'm planning?

2. All that stuff about voltage, current, and resistance that they teach you in high school? I remember the equations, but I have no numbers from the real world to plug into them. Does anyone have an estimate of how many LED lamps I can string in parallel before frying the wire, how many I can put in series before I need to up the voltage? And do I need to add in any resistors (I'm thinking off the shelf flashlight lamps, so I don't foresee needing resistors, but... I don't know).

3. What's the best practice for protecting my wiring from rain and careless splashes of vodka drinks?

4. What about other technologies, like CFLs? Are they worth pursuing?