Is 18inch Hook Rebar acceptable?

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding shelter, shade, tents, and camping. Yes, this includes RV's too.

Is 18inch Hook Rebar acceptable?

Postby Sillytwin » Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:13 pm

This is my first year at Burning Man and am EXCITED! I practiced building our canvas tent in my backyard this past weekend.

I was wondering if 18 inch HOOK rebar is ok to secure the tent? I have read that 24 or 36 inches is recommended, but was wondering if 18 inches is ok?

Thank you! :D
Sillytwin

Postby theCryptofishist » Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:18 pm

You'll almost certainly be fine. There are gusts of wind that get pretty fast and strong, but few that are that strong.

But I'm not hte person (or couch) to give building advice.
The Lady with a Lamprey

"The powerful are exploiting people, art and ideas, and this leads to us plebes debating how to best ration ice.
Man, no wonder they always win....." Lonesomebri

Get a Taint, you pathetic cur!
theCryptofishist

Burning Since: 2017

Postby sputnik » Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:02 pm

I'll just say that I had great success with 12" aluminum V stakes. They're easily found in army surplus stores. They are also as cheap as rebar and much easier to pound in.
It's going to be alright.
sputnik

Burning Since: 2004
Camp Name: Ubercarney

Postby Mojojita » Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:34 pm

I think most of us don't "hook" the rebar any more because it makes it very hard to pound in. 18in should be just fine. Bring bottles, tennis balls, or something to put over the exposed rebar (I prefer pool noodles) in order to avoid shin injuries.
Mojojita

Postby Zhust » Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:24 pm

Mojojita wrote:I think most of us don't "hook" the rebar any more because it makes it very hard to pound in.