Tent questions

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding shelter, shade, tents, and camping. Yes, this includes RV's too.

Tent questions

Postby Frankenstipe » Sat Aug 08, 2009 4:30 pm

So yeah it's my first year, I'm going with a pretty big group of people who have gone the last 2 or 3 years I think so most of the prep work is already done. I just need to figure what I personally am going to need and right now my tent is the main issue.

It's not really my tent I just found it in a cupboard in our house and no one else claimed it so it's mine now. Anyway it's a Rugged Exposure Prospector Tent, I think it's a 7x7. It's made out of Polyester and the poles are fiberglass I think, it came with a rain fly too. I've been warned a lot about the high winds and playa dust so I'm trying to prep it for that but not really sure what I could use.

I know to use candy-caned rebar for the stakes, but the issue is mostly the fabric tearing at the seams or the poles breaking or falling down. Any idea on how I can solve either of those problems for say less than $50. Also I hear heat is an issue in the desert, go figure right, so any ideas on how to stay cool in the tent during the day time whilst I try and sleep.
Frankenstipe

Postby Oldguy » Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:55 pm

Welcome to eplaya. It is good to ask reasonable questions before ending up on the real playa unprepared.

Besides properly stacking your tent down, your tent fly must be secured also. Do not depend on little plastic hooks. Tie that sucker down.

To provide inexpensive shade, you might try stacking down a shade cloth over all your tent and fly. Use guylines and heavy stakes again. You might even use some failsafe ropes also. Storing your water jugs inside at the corners will weigh down your lightweight tent also. Some folks tie their tent to their car bumper. We are carcamping here, not backpacking.