The Floating Man Project: Building an Isolation Tank

The Floating Man Project: Building an Isolation Tank

Postby envisionary » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:43 am

Greetings fellow Burners!

I am beyond thrilled to finally be attending Burning Man for the first time this year, and despite being a newbie, I have a special project in mind that I would love to contribute. Myself and a small team of friends are aspiring to construct an isolation tank (aka float tank, sensory deprivation tank) on the playa, so that we can share the experience of floating with the people of Black Rock City. I have been a float fanatic for a couple years now, and consider it to be the most relaxing experience one can possibly have! It is also a sanctuary for reflection, contemplation, and rejuvenation, that would complement the harshness and sensory overload of the desert. To the best of my knowledge, this has never been done before on the playa.

Our small team is super lucky to have the guys of Float On helping us out. Float On is the largest float center on the West Coast, located in Portland, OR. With 4 tanks in full service, they know what they are doing! Several of them are experienced Burners as well. Their website is http://www.floathq.com if you are interested in learning more about them and floating in general.

The biggest obstacle we are facing right now is getting clearance from the Burning Man organization on our plans. We are aware that no public showers or pools are permitted, yet our plans do not quite fit either description. In addition, it would only be servicing a small group of people, 100 at most, on a selective, single-serve basis. All of our water and gear will be transporting in and out by us. The tank itself would be contained within the back of a large moving van, and the water would be filtered and kept clear, abiding by the Nevada State Health specifications.