Artist with CNC machine looking for project (San Diego)

Artist with CNC machine looking for project (San Diego)

Postby Shoeshine » Sat May 01, 2010 1:00 am

Hi All,

I am a noob planning on attending this year (2010) This will be my first time going.

The folk I will be traveling with have established connections and plans for work they are doing.

I hate to be a "hanger on" given the amazing level of participation I see on the web. But... I havent so far, come up with a project of my own that fires me up.

Given this: I have some resources availible to me that might really benefit the right project. The first and formost is I have a shopbot CNC router that can make some amazing stuff. My bed is 24" x 48" and basicly anything that you can draw up on a computer, I can cut out of sheet goods with hardness up to 6061 aluminum. To complement that capability I also have a pretty good assembly shop with most of the common woodworking tools (i.e. table saw, router table, mitre saw, drill press, etc...) and a few metal machines.

I am also a fairly skilled painter in oil and acrylics. see http://www.schaie.com/fine_art

anyway, I thought I might offer up my services and skill, and see if there was a project looking for a skilled artisan in the SoCal area that could use some help.

We are in the midst of getting a camper van, so I will not need a place to stay or much support. I just want to add to the whole of the thing.

Chris

P.S. I do hold down a job, and am the father of a 2yr old, so my time and money are not unlimited. But I would love to contribute to a worthy project.
Shoeshine

Burning Since: 2010
Camp Name: Camp DIY

Postby masho » Sat May 01, 2010 6:55 am

Hey Shoeshine,

Great introduction. I like your approach. I'm not sure if you are only looking to support a larger project or want to do something on your own? Assuming the latter: