Camp Envy Burners: How did the Ustream Webcam work for you?

Camp Envy Burners: How did the Ustream Webcam work for you?

Postby stego_s_aurus » Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:50 am

Here in Southern California, the Ustream feed seemed to be pretty decent, considering there were 6500+ viewers at the height of the burn. However, theres a Burner from England who received Sound but no Video.

That now makes me wonder: Where were the viewers located on the planet, and How was your overall experience this year with the Ustream feed? Knowing this information would be Highly useful for the Camrea Crew to know so that things can be tweaked over the next 51 weeks:

(Camrea Crew: THANK YOU for taking the time to man the camera and give Camp Envy an eye onto the Playa!)

(disclaimer: I'm NOT associated with the camera crew: I work in the IT field and am just awestruck with what the official Camera Crew had to go through to GET us that feed!!)
stego_s_aurus

Postby Grazelda » Sun Sep 06, 2009 3:52 pm

The stream in the midwest was excellent, we watched 3-4 days. Got some black screens during the burn and missed the pre-burn fireworks. Still an excellent experience, with the chat adding to the warm fuzzies from the playa. Looking forward to watching the Temple burn tonight, dust willing.

But how did they do it? What sort of net link survived those dust storms?
Grazelda

Postby DVD Burner » Sun Sep 06, 2009 4:18 pm

Question for stego_s_aurus, is there any way to use SEO tools such as google analytics? That would give you an accurate account of geo/demographics.

"The art is in the digit!"

The Original Digiman
DVD Burner

Postby Hoolie » Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:46 pm

I was also watching in California, and the stream from beginning to end was nearly perfect. Big thanks to all those who made it possible.
Hoolie

Burning Since: 2000

Postby Prospero's Ghost » Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:50 pm

Just fine here in NYC! I really appreciated being able to watch and connect in some way while afar.