unabashed noob seeks help sorting a music performance space?

is it better to secure a space/venue before going to BM, or best to prepare for anything and then just wing it?

plan ahead as detailed as possible
14%
improvise in the glory of the moment
43%
travel both roads
43%

Total votes : 7

unabashed noob seeks help sorting a music performance space?

Postby kreg » Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:50 pm

first timer. just need the simple breakdown. i would like to prepare a solid shows worth of material special order for BM '09. i am primarily an experimental electronic music producer. my situation is, i need to have some idea of the possible scope involved. i mean i could sort a laptop set/live mixdown style, even as 'one man band' if it comes to it... however, i can foresee a novel set of possibilities by starting the plan this far back, i will cater the music in some measure depending on some prime factors... but i need to know how things break down in the most simplest terms, as far as a strategy to best lead to maximum creative conductivity, things will get deeper and more interesting and deeper the more others can contribute, so... for instance if i know i have a set at such and such a time, the stage is apx. size, the power limitations.

perhaps best to prepare a few tunes which would transmit a general theme and write up a proposal for optional elements??? like an outline of what i would like to see in an unobstructed vision of an ideal show, which would include many other contributors... ? like dancers, dj's, drummers, singers, AND there is a type of 'storytelling' aspect that could be worked out in a real cool manner, but it will take investment of creative energies that are dependant relative to logistical concerns.

does this 'proposal' get sent to a central Burning Man Booking place? i did see the form thing, but then got noob confusion upon seeing individuals asking in general for a space to play.