Blacksmith camp

Blacksmith camp

Postby Blacksmith » Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:54 pm

Greetings to all, I am a bit new to burning man but I have hear a lot about it and have had a few friends that have attended and am planning a camp with a few of them and wanted to run it by on here and see the feed back I get since I am not sure how.... acceptable it may be purely based on the nature of blacksmithing in and of itself. I want to do a blacksmith camp, surprise surprise!!! I would be bringing a almost completed sculpture that would require assembly and a few parts to be made on site. The only things that I have on mind that might be more of a nuisance then a fascination would be the noise that we would create while working, which we can limit to certain hours. Hammering on metal is pretty loud and I don't even know if I can imagine how it will carry. The second is fuel source. The idea of burning propane instead of coal has the down fall of propane tanks, and the coal produces a brilliant smell, well to some of us that is, and smoke. I would just like to get some feedback as to what you guys think about this idea and/or how appropriate it may be. Either way, I fancy I shall be there, working or playing!!!!
Blacksmith

Postby mereth » Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:02 pm

Sounds neat...
Would you allow people who have never done 'smith work before to do stuff with it (with supervision/guidance, of course) or will it be a "come watch us do our thing and please stay behind the dotted line" kind of camp?
Okay, so ten out of ten for style, but minus several million for good thinking, yeah?
mereth

Postby Blacksmith » Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:11 pm

It would be totally open for anyone and everyone to come and participate as much or as little as they fancy. And we would make sure that everyone has a safe and fun time. I would actually encourage as many people to participate as possible! It is a big thing for me is to share the art form with as many people as possible, share the love and passion!!!