burningman portrait project

portrait project Burningman 07

Postby dan husted » Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:34 am

To all the Burners...

My name is Dan Husted, I'm a photographer based in Copenhagen, Denmark.

I will be attending the Burning Man 2007 together with friends from LA. This is my first time at BM and I want to contribute as a participant by doing a portrait project that has a impact.

Each year we let out more and more Co2 in to the atmosphere. Denmark and the United States are among the countries in the world that lets out most Co2 per capita.

How can we deal with this problem from day to day? Can we do anything at all?

I think so. But first, we have to get people to be aware about Co2 emissions. We also need to understand that small things matter in the big picture and that we all have a responsibility to make this planet a better place for our next generations.

What does this have to do with my project?

I want to portray the people at BM in black and white studio photography in the style of Richard Avedon. The contrast between the colorful and different people of the playa will make the pictures very powerful and intense. The fact that I'm shooting the people in a "studio" will also add to the intensity of the photographs.

So what is the link between Co2 and black and white portraits of the people at BM?

With black and white photography, the viewer must imagine the colors that they do not see in the photos. The color is in life, but in the photos, it is invisible to the viewer. I'm trying to portray that this example is similar to Co2. We cannot see Co2, but it is all around us and it has an impact on nature, just like we know that color is all around us and is invisible in black and white photography.

So how do I/we use black and white photos to minimize Co2?